Royal Enfield Classic 500 User Reviews

Overall rating:

4.7
23 ratings 8 reviews
  •  5  20
  •  4  1
  •  3  1
  •  2  0
  •  1  1
Royal Enfield Classic 500 Reviews

Royal Enfield Classic 500

Ex-showroom, Mumbai

₹ 1,76,132

Bike Review Contest

Rate & write a detailed review to win Amazon vouchers worth ₹ 1,000

Reviews on Classic 500

  •  1Lack of knowledge 2 years ago by

    My (four) days old bike received on 20th july 2015 royal enfield classic 500cc silver in color is in the h.S.R service station sr nagar, not even number plated, rode only 18km, bought in from hsr store which is in lalbagh road, bangalore what happened? my old habit

    My (four) days old bike received on 20th july 2015 royal enfield classic 500cc silver in color is in the h.S.R service station sr nagar, not even number plated, rode only 18km, bought in from hsr store which is in lalbagh road, bangalore what happened? my old habit with previous bike pulsar 150cc keeping the wiping cloth just below the tank, did the same with my new enfield (incident date 24th july 2015) in the middle of road speed of 40km bike back tire was sudden stop bike started skirting nearly 8-9 times somehow i managed handling without falling down, and god bless lucky nothing came and hit me from behind from heavy moving traffic (lifestyle signal) had to stop in the middle of road and i had no idea what could have happened than i moved the bike aside of road such a heavy bike with the help of people around there as the back tire was stuck (not moving), than i see they was a cloth stuck in the chain, so guess what happened is small piece of wiping cloth rolled to a chain and went inside the damaged crank box,

    bike reached hsr service station after checked, manager says if we have to change the crank box will cost you rs. 25,000/- (Thousand) new crank rs. 17,000/- Plus oil/labor charges altogether will come up to rs. 25,000/- So easy to say,

    (customer) i was very up-set and disappointed, i said but it should be replaced how can such a small piece of cloth go break the parts inside, manager said it’s not a manufacturing defect ;) so i get it it’s my mistake that i have kept the wiping cloth there, but what about the quality factor which a small cloth can also break this type of metal, for god sake it’s a (royal enfield it’s a huge brand)and to hear such a thing was not pleasing me at all, ah he did mention this was the case received,

    customer- than i asked what if insurance can cover the damage, manager- it’s not accident or something so it’s no basically , customer- i was imagining now here i could have lost my life in this incident but nobody would understand this part,

    i was not totally disappointed until yesterday 27th july 2015 when i drop down to the service station and saw all the engine part open into pieces, it was not a good feeling at all for a five days old as new bike trust me.

    And this bike i had bought for my younger brother to gift him on his birthday which is in 4 days 1st august his birthday l.

    I like to extend my courtesy to mr. Mithun (gm) who understand my need of surprising my brother on his birthday gift and to get the bike asap.

    A suggestion please add this part to say to your customers not to keep any cloth below the tank in the time of introduction/explanation on time of delivery to customer, this lack of acknowledge, can cost someone’s life.

    Pros

    all

    cons

    not enough information

    • 1

      Visual Appeal

    • 1

      Performance

    • 1

      Comfort

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

  •  5Only one word awesome  1 year ago by

    Style i am proud owner of black classic 500, when you drive it on road everyone notice. Classic retro look is on the mark and royal enfied feel comes so well.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox power of engine is too good, you just need to give little race

    Style i am proud owner of black classic 500, when you drive it on road everyone notice. Classic retro look is on the mark and royal enfied feel comes so well.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox power of engine is too good, you just need to give little race and bike will fly. Fuel economy is good, approx 5 km/liter less than 350cc. Gears are smooth, i havn't face any issues.

    Ride quality & handling ride quality is great, power and pick-up, handling is also very good. But if you are a daily rider in city traffic, its not for you. Best for long highway rides..!!

    Final words don't read too much of reviews, just go for it... This killer machine will not disappoint you in any way.

    Areas of improvement improve handling in city traffic..!!

    Pros

    style, thump & power

    cons

    not for city drive

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

  •  5My heart beat 3 years ago by

    Style

    the royal enfield has been a style statement and a status symbol from the colonial times. The classic 350 does not fall short of this description. When you ride a classic 500 you are sure to make heads turn. The chrome parts, the perfect paint job, and the

    Style

    the royal enfield has been a style statement and a status symbol from the colonial times. The classic 350 does not fall short of this description. When you ride a classic 500 you are sure to make heads turn. The chrome parts, the perfect paint job, and the thumping makes you feel proud and tall. Royal enfield has done everything right here! another great touch is the classic speedometer.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox

    with 350cc and over 22bhp, the classic 350 delivers the royal enfield promise. The acceleration is unmatchable; it climbs up to a 60kmph under 7-9seconds. The highest speed i have clocked on the is 110kmph while riding solo.

    The riding position is the best you can find if you like cruising or taking long trips. The pillion seat too is extremely comfortable especially if you need it to seat a girlfriend or wife for a long journey. The fuel economy promised by the company is 25kmpl and above. However most people got 29km/ltr after fourth service.

    Ride quality & handling

    the seating position, thigh pads and handle bars that are spaced perfectly make riding this beast a treasured experience. For most of it, you feel like you are just gliding in air unless at speeds higher than 80kmph. At high speeds, the bike tends to vibrate a little and can get a annoying at high speeds. The suspension absorbs every little pothole like a sponge. Sometimes, you won't know a pothole exists, thats how well the classic 500 swallows them. With these features and abilities, you can ride on any terrain with you classic. The soft suspension may cause your silencer hit the ground on high speed breakers or while your off-roading. In case you are going to use it in farms or rough terrain you should consider getting an upswept silencer.

    Final words

    a royal enfield is not for everyone. The classic 500 is a beautiful peace of metal that anyone will grow to love. The bike does justice to its name 'classic', the styling right from the paint job to the vintage speedometer dials complement the name. You will fall in love with the bike before you know it.

    Areas of improvement

    1. The gearbox needs serious fixing.

    2. They need to introduce disc breaks for the rear wheels, it would boost confidence while making long trips.

    Pros

    beast look

    cons

    nothing

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

  •  5Indian bike wining world 3 years ago by

    Style

    looks good but tobe improved

    engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox

    excellient, it's a 350cc bike, but it will easily give you more than 45km/lt

    ride quality & handling

    no question.....

    Final words

    if you love your life than go for it...

    Style

    looks good but tobe improved

    engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox

    excellient, it's a 350cc bike, but it will easily give you more than 45km/lt

    ride quality & handling

    no question.....

    Final words

    if you love your life than go for it... Because it is not a plastic bike like other manufacturers. |Its a steel bike. It will give you more safe drive.

    Areas of improvement

    waiting period

    pros

    indian bike wining world

    cons

    nothing

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

  •  4Gutsy thumper 1 month ago by

    Buying a royal enfield was dream, i think everyone has this desire of buying a royal enfield, the look and feel of the bike is excellent that thumpy engine, which makes your adrenaline pump, the experience cannot be explained it can only be felt. There where so many

    Buying a royal enfield was dream, i think everyone has this desire of buying a royal enfield, the look and feel of the bike is excellent that thumpy engine, which makes your adrenaline pump, the experience cannot be explained it can only be felt. There where so many bikes but for me only royal enfield mattered for the same price, i could have got a motorcycle with more technology. But none of them had feel of royal enfield so i bought it without any second thoughts. I have only pros say in this bike not many cons.

    Cons

    1.The bike vibrates a lot but it's not a con, really it's the character of the bike itself.

    2.I think royal enfield has to improve the build quality.

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 4

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 3

      Service Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Occasional Commute

    • Owned for

      < 3 months

    • Ridden for

      < 5000 kms

  •  5D king re 500 2 months ago by
    I have owned my re 500 before 3 month , its just an amazing bike if you maintain in a proper way. This bike gives a good comfort while you going for a trip. You will feel the vibration of d bike in speed of 120kms. My bike gives me mileage of 42 on highway. Never
    I have owned my re 500 before 3 month , its just an amazing bike if you maintain in a proper way. This bike gives a good comfort while you going for a trip. You will feel the vibration of d bike in speed of 120kms. My bike gives me mileage of 42 on highway. Never compare bullet with sports bike, re is purely for trip not for sport.
    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Tours

    • Owned for

      3-6 months

    • Ridden for

      < 5000 kms

  •  5Live to ride die to regret  1 month ago by

    The power, the fuel efficiency, the reliability and simple yet drop dead gorgeous classic styling. The classic turns heads not because it wants to but because it can’t help it. I appreciate its beat not just for the sound, but also for the muted feeling of strength and

    The power, the fuel efficiency, the reliability and simple yet drop dead gorgeous classic styling. The classic turns heads not because it wants to but because it can’t help it. I appreciate its beat not just for the sound, but also for the muted feeling of strength and power that it signifies.When i see a open road, my heart jumps a bit and i go for a muted gallop. With my inexpensive ninja helmet half open and me smiling like a kid with increasing air pressure generated by the wind reminding me of reaching 100 as it tries to lift off my face. I stop and transform my helmet back into one piece to go past 100 and settle at a cruising speed of 110. On this bull it’s not how fast you reach 100 but the way it takes you there. The best part is how she pulls from 80-120 with some juice left, all you need is a straight and empty road. She can do 100 all day long. You feel all the 27.2 Horses galloping in a sync. On a std bullet, you would be rattling your tail off or perhaps churning milk into butter at 100+. Praying at the same time for early radar warning of any movable approaching hazard in your way.The engine requires nothing off you except oil change at 500km which i highly recommend, then at 6000km.

    I had a issue of oil leak from the kick shaft which on second attempt after replacing the oil seal and plate, vanished. Not a drop of oil from anywhere since then.

    There is some issue with the plugs turning out black which the re is working on it. Its happening only up north as far as i know according to re. Due to the cold weather and plugs meant for warmer climate. They will be replacing the plugs soon and i got mine. Upon changing, it turns out that plugs are not at fault but something else. Mystery continues while re has failed to address the problem so far.

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      Never owned

  •  5My love  1 week ago by

    Riding experience in classic 500 is awesome. i just love the sound and the way they build. the re is sexy and the name it self there is a royalty

    *maintenance i didn't have any maintenance issues i do service after every single trip

    *there are many pros and but cons

    Riding experience in classic 500 is awesome. i just love the sound and the way they build. the re is sexy and the name it self there is a royalty

    *maintenance i didn't have any maintenance issues i do service after every single trip

    *there are many pros and but cons there but i couldn't find any

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      10000-15000 kms

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Rate your bike

Share your experience about this bike

Expert Reviews on Classic 500

Royal Enfield Classic 500
Royal Enfield Classic 500
03 May 2015
Pratheek Kunder

As a brand this World War II veteran has seen a lot of changes Bringing in changes as the wheels of time moved forward the company has managed to keep itself above the waters unlike few manufacturers who had to taste the dust The changes may or may not have worked for it...

Read all expert reviews

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Please tell us your city

This allows us to provide relevant content for you.

Please enter your city
Confirm city