Reviews of Honda CBR-250R

Overall rating:

4.6
53 ratings 23 reviews
  •  5  39
  •  4  10
  •  3  3
  •  2  0
  •  1  1
Honda CBR-250R Reviews

Honda CBR-250R

Last known Ex-showroom, Mumbai

₹ 1,71,646

Rating Parameters:

  • 4

    Visual Appeal

  • 4

    Reliability

  • 4

    Performance

  • 4

    Comfort

  • 4

    Service Experience

Bike Review Contest

Rate & write a detailed review to win Amazon vouchers worth ₹ 2,000

Reviews on CBR-250R

  •  5Must read before you own one! 2 years ago by Shubham
    Hey guys i had fallen in love with this beauty the day i saw it first so i decided i will own this one day.Finally the day came i bought a 2012 cbr250r abs red colour.(clocked 45k kms)Performance- too good n best in class. No weird engine sound at high speed smooth spee...

    Hey guys i had fallen in love with this beauty the day i saw it first so i decided i will own this one day.Finally the day came i bought a 2012 cbr250r abs red colour.(clocked 45k kms)

    Performance- too good n best in class. No weird engine sound at high speed smooth speeds great stability at high speeds (top speed clocked by me 110 kmph)

    Gearbox- the best gear box no need of slipper clutch gear shifting is butter smooth only its little difficult to find neutral else is smooth and precise.No false gear.

    Build quality- build quality is top notch every part made is heavy and long lasting no rattling sound from any of the parts.

    Tyres- they are pretty good didn't done any off-roading but daily use and some rainy weather its good no complain about it.

    Maintenance- maintenance is little higher compared to other 200cc-250cc bikes.

    Ride-feels really powerful every shift there is power in traffic needs more gear shift but its ok for me at highway the ride is planted as well as thrilling.

    Parts- parts availability is not much good some parts are not available when needed order has to be placed it took 2 -3 days fr the parts no modification done its all stock till date.

    (changed

    Rear brake hydraulic kit 1300

    Front disc 3000

    Footrest 110

    Taillights 260 per light

    Tyres 8000

    Handlebar 800 right side)(thane)

    Mileage- for a 250cc bike mileage is decent i got 28 kmpl it included both city and highway (mostly my commute is in city)

    Comfort-front seat is very comfortable and back seat also comfortable only one issue with back seat is when brakes are applied normally the passenger tends to slip over to front . I guess seat cover will resolve this issue but churning normal and high speed rides both seats are comfortable no pain in back or wrist.

    Brakes- abs does its job well brakes are very good no slip issues applies well when needed and in time.

    The overall experience of bike is damn awesome people stare at bike even if its been 5 years (2012-present) unique and feels proud to own such beauty

    Advice to honda if you are listening please make the spare parts available and have more no. of cbr technician (manpada-thane)

    Give a little more attention to cbr owners.

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 3

      Service Experience

    Was this review helpful?

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    Read more
    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

    • Got mileage of

      28 kmpl

    • Got mileage of

  •  427000 kms of breeze- cbr 250r 2 years ago by Siddhanth Paul
    First of all, for all the prospective buyers: why the cbr250r amidst all the competition in the market?I purchased mine in 2015 thus, competition wasn't fierce at that time. Main competitor- ktm duke 200Options considered- 1. Bajaj pulsar ns2002. Yamaha r153. Apache rtr...

    First of all, for all the prospective buyers: why the cbr250r amidst all the competition in the market?

    I purchased mine in 2015 thus, competition wasn't fierce at that time.

    Main competitor- ktm duke 200

    Options considered- 1. Bajaj pulsar ns200

    2. Yamaha r15

    3. Apache rtr 180 abs

    4. Ktm rc200

    Some pointers to justify my purchase:-

    1. Ruled out the duke due to long waiting period of over 2 months.

    2. Ruled out yamaha r15 due to aggressive riding position and, coming from a bajaj pulsar 135ls, 150cc didn't seem a kind of an upgrade. (views may differ)

    3. Ruled out bajaj ns200 because i didn't wanted to own 2 successive pulsars (silly of me)

    4. Ruled out ktm rc200 due to the aggressive riding position.

    5. Ruled out tvs apache 180 abs because it was a mystery at the time of purchase, i.E. My local dealers did not have any idea of the 'abs' being offered on the apache, maybe due to the lack of demand for the particular variant.

    Apart from the above facts, some reasons to prefer the cbr 250r:-

    1, i liked the tricolour paint (personal opinion, again)

    2. Smooth engine as compared to rivals (exception: r15)

    3. Massive amounts of torque

    4. Good honda service in delhi ncr

    5. Sweet exhaust note *-*

    Riding experience:-

    I've clocked over 27000 kilometres on the bike till date. All 27000 kms of joy, except sometimes. The power delivery is butter-smooth and the gear box is a breeze to operate although the gears although the ratios are tall and require frequent gearshifts in traffic.

    The tyres have been changed to mrf masseters and the performance viz a viz grip levels is superior.

    Buying and servicing experience:-

    The sales representatives at ganpati honda, gurgaon were very helpful and arranged a test ride at once, upon asking for one. The test ride vehicle had some rough noise which made me skeptical but i was assured that it was a problem with the test ride bike. I've never had a bitter experience with the service centre.

    Servicing costs:- all free servicing costed me about 600-700/-

    Paid servicing costed about 1500/-

    Looks:- eye-catchy

    Performance:- breeze :) recorded a top speed of 162 kph.

    Maintenance:- now this is the part many will be looking up for. During my tenure of owning the bike, maintenance has been on the expensive side. Expensive as in the brake pads for the front and rear cost me about 1600/- combined (pre-gst).

    The chain sprocket on mine was changed on 25000 kilometers.

    Little niggles here and there have been frustrating at times, tho. Like, once i got hazard lights installed on the bike which resulted in the speedo and tacho going off.

    The rear brake light at times would go off.

    The stator coil failed at around 20000 kilometres and costed me 3000/- including labour.

    Once, the front wheel jammed in the middle of the highway due to faulty brake pads and had to get them changed too

    The camshaft tensioner has been changed 3 times. Costed me 700/- every-time excluding labour.

    The shims were adjusted at 23000 kilometres.

    Pros:- performance, looks, ride ability (even though it is on the heavier side), support

    Cons:- poor parts availability, poor parts fitting (you can easily see the wiring for headlights and indicators through the fairing, while riding), bad quality contigos installed on the bike ,when purchased, may feel heavy at times

    I had also done some minor changes to the bike during these 27000 kilometres:-

    1. Installed a aftermarket slip-on exhaust. Sound was nice and bumped up the low end, but ate up the top end. Removed and back to stock, as of now.

    2. Bar end mirrors installed.

    3. Saree guard removed, and no plans of putting it back on (:p)

    That's it from my side. Hope the review helps.

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 4

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 5

      Service Experience

    Was this review helpful?

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    Read more
    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

    • Got mileage of

  •  5Honda cbr 250 bike ever i seen 2 years ago by Sandesh Zore
    It is an best bike ever i seen.It is affordable sport bike and with strong body.Perfect in look.They have little bit high maintenance.But, this bike i most like and say to every one if you want to budgetable sport bike then you buy honda cbr250. Also they have high perf...

    It is an best bike ever i seen.It is affordable sport bike and with strong body.Perfect in look.They have little bit high maintenance.But, this bike i most like and say to every one if you want to budgetable sport bike then you buy honda cbr250. Also they have high performance with amazing mileage and have best controls.

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    Was this review helpful?

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    Read more
    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

    • Got mileage of

  •  5Honda cbr 250r 5 years ago by Onkar
    Style engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox ride quality & handling - excellent final words the honda cbr250r is a single cylinder sport bike made by honda. It was primarily intended for the indian markets. The cbr250r closely follows the style of the vfr1200...

    Style

    engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox

    ride quality & handling - excellent

    final words

    the honda cbr250r is a single cylinder sport bike made by honda. It was primarily intended for the indian markets. The cbr250r closely follows the style of the vfr1200f, notable for its y-shaped headlight and prominent middle cowl, which creates a layered look. In one head to head comparison 250r to be the better bike due to its superior speed and handling.

    Areas of improvement

    nothing

    pros

    looks and perfomance

    cons

    nothing

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    Was this review helpful?

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    Read more
    • Got mileage of

  •  3Honda cbr 250r 3 years ago by Talib
    Style v good/looks are superb. Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox engine is too good/fuel economy very bad/ gearbox good. Ride quality & handling best/speed up like cheetha. Final words not for daily use /only for sunday and public holiday. Seating positio...

    Style v good/looks are superb.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox engine is too good/fuel economy very bad/ gearbox good.

    Ride quality & handling best/speed up like cheetha.

    Final words not for daily use /only for sunday and public holiday. Seating position is too bad you can not drive more than 60 km on one strach.

    Areas of improvement fomfort level to rider, average /seating posture.

    Pros

    speed/handling/ looks

    cons

    no comfort/milage is less

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Performance

    • 1

      Comfort

    Was this review helpful?

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    Read more
    • Got mileage of

  •  3Not a good bike 3 years ago by Alok
    I just bought a new cbr 250r (abs) ka-05-jy-1372, here is my review. This huge piece of metal has way more torque than it requires in the lower rev range. First of all it does not carry payload, secondly; it is just enough for my little wife to be seated in the pillion ...

    I just bought a new cbr 250r (abs) ka-05-jy-1372, here is my review.

    This huge piece of metal has way more torque than it requires in the lower rev range. First of all it does not carry payload, secondly; it is just enough for my little wife to be seated in the pillion seat, why the hell does it require so much torque is something i dont understand. In 1st gear, the engine roars and speed is hardly anything.

    After that... You change it to the 2nd gear and rev it equeally hard as the 1st (say, around 4000 rpm), the speed is just above what it was when it was in the 1st... Overlapping speed ranges.. Another big waste of precious power.

    Finally, by the time you come to 4th.... The speed attained is just as much as my scooty zest 110 (ka-02-jh-1814)..!! :-( The real speed comes only when you reach a minimum 50 kmph in 4th gear (which is pretty high in rev range)... It just not the characteristic of a 'sports' bike. A sports bike of this kind should be longing for speed and keep up the initial torque until it gets the kick...... But what i majorly observe in this bike is a whole lot of grunt from the engine and huge waste of torque which struggles to get converted to speed easily.

    Also, per user's manual ..... Abs light goes on and off and appears to be in on mode when driving at 10 kmph or less. But here it glows all the time. Took it to the mechanic and he said there was some sensor issue and said it was resolved. But, now even at 65 kmph, abs light glows..... Really dont know where to take it to.

    Also, high beam focus is near (shallow) and there is no beam pitch selector knob.

    Lastly, the engine idling itself is pretty high. I expected the bike to start moving in 1st gear without raising the throtle assuming that idle engine running will take care of the initial motion. Here... It is not the case... In 1st gear at idle engine running, when clutch is released 60%, the engine vibrates slightly (which is the way it is supposed to be) but after further clutch release, the engine goes off....... Idle engine engagement is not converted to motion..... And slight difference in throtle position and clutch engage will lead to over grunt or engine flame out. This is really stupid in this kind of bike. Where-as i heard that in r15, this problem does not occur.

    My advice, unless you are a honda freak, no point going for this bike. Others may have a different opinion.... But just shared my thoughts.

    Plastic quaity, fit & finish very poor.

    Gap between fuel rank lid and tank - water seeps into the tap and leave the engine caughing many times during rainy condisions.

    Unergonomically positioned seat cover opener. Mirrors are not that good too.

    Pros

    styling and braking

    cons

    too much torque, low speed, poor fuel economy, bad drive train

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 2

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    Was this review helpful?

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    Read more
    • Got mileage of

  •  5Everlasting performance 3 years ago by Pranav J I
    Style style is not out dated, even after 6 years of its launch engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox mileage is best in its class, smooth and cool engine unlike ktm bikes, economic too, not even a single gear slip. Cabs save ur life everytime ride quality & h...

    Style

    style is not out dated, even after 6 years of its launch

    engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox

    mileage is best in its class, smooth and cool engine unlike ktm bikes, economic too, not even a single gear slip. Cabs save ur life everytime

    ride quality & handling

    handling is pretty good but not as good as ktm rc 390, but ride qulaity is just awesome. No strain or back pain

    final words

    would i reccommend it to a friend who is confused between ktm rc390 , r15 and dominar ?

    yes with boths thumbs up

    areas of improvement

    console can be updated, the option to turn off abs

    pros

    styling , cabs, comfort, engine smoothness,

    cons

    no option to turn off abs, haven't updated the console since 2011

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    Was this review helpful?

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    Read more
    • Got mileage of

  •  5God of roads 2 years ago by Devanand
    god of bikesBikes gives a clear definition that cbr 250 r .Ride a life with a happiness , fun a safety with honda bikes........You will admire riding when you ride cbr 250 r. Racing bike and nice bike.All see you on the road when you travel with comfort in cbr 250 r.Rid...

    god of bikes

    Bikes gives a clear definition that cbr 250 r .Ride a life with a happiness , fun a safety with honda bikes........You will admire riding when you ride cbr 250 r. Racing bike and nice bike.All see you on the road when you travel with comfort in cbr 250 r.Ride on your style honda cbr 250 r. All will love this bike ....Just try once........

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    Was this review helpful?

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    Read more
    • Used it for

      Tours

    • Owned for

      Never owned

    • Got mileage of

      35 kmpl

    • Got mileage of

  •  5Red riding hood 2 years ago by Ashutosh
    Late in 2014, i wanted to shift from driving a car to riding a bike. I wasn’t looking for the regular bikes but wanted something i could have some fun with. Pashankar at jm road, pune were very professional and got me the bike on time with finance!The honda 250r fit the...
    Late in 2014, i wanted to shift from driving a car to riding a bike. I wasn’t looking for the regular bikes but wanted something i could have some fun with. Pashankar at jm road, pune were very professional and got me the bike on time with finance!The honda 250r fit the bill nicely, with enough power to keep me interested as well as safe! i could push the bike to the limit without any drama thanks to its great braking performance. It’s smooth and vibration free. Great for daily commutes as well as long rides.Needless to say the bike is a head turner, a beauty!Servicing is hassle free, doesn’t cost a bomb! Can’t really find any issues with this bike!
    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 5

      Service Experience

    Was this review helpful?

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    Read more
    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      5000-10000 kms

    • Got mileage of

      25 kmpl

    • Got mileage of

  •  4amazing 1 year ago by Mathew
    the only issue which is not much an issue i have had till date was.. riding with a pillion in Bangalore city..... but on the highways you feel nothing. it is very reliable. never broke down on me. never ever any part failed on me. it was just amazing. i used to change o...
    the only issue which is not much an issue i have had till date was.. riding with a pillion in Bangalore city..... but on the highways you feel nothing. it is very reliable. never broke down on me. never ever any part failed on me. it was just amazing. i used to change oil every 6 months no matter what.
    • 5

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    Was this review helpful?

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    Read more
    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

    • Got mileage of

      28 kmpl

    • Got mileage of

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Report

Rate your bike

Share your experience about this bike

Expert Reviews on CBR-250R

Honda CBR 250R VS Kawasaki Ninja 250R

Honda CBR 250R VS Kawasaki Ninja 250R

15 July 2012
Vikrant Singh

Right Of Way.The new Honda CBR 250R is here. But, it is good enough to command right of way over the  original stalwart, the Kawasaki Ninja 250R? We find out.

Read more
Read all expert reviews
}

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Report

Please tell us your city

This allows us to provide relevant content for you.

Please enter your city
Confirm city