Reviews of Royal Enfield Thunderbird 350

Overall rating:

4.4
606 ratings 272 reviews
  •  5  345
  •  4  181
  •  3  47
  •  2  15
  •  1  18
Royal Enfield Thunderbird 350 Reviews

Royal Enfield Thunderbird 350

Ex-showroom, Mumbai

₹ 1,56,658

Rating Parameters:

  • 4

    Visual Appeal

  • 3

    Reliability

  • 4

    Performance

  • 4

    Comfort

  • 3

    Service Experience

Bike Review Contest

Rate & write a detailed review to win Amazon vouchers worth ₹ 2,000

Reviews on Thunderbird 350

  •  5King of enfield 1 year ago by Himanshu
    I bought my royal enfield thunderbird from showroom ,after took try on every model of enfield. I choose thunderbird because...1.The most comfortable bike in all enfields. 2 the most stylish of all models in enfield.3 maintenance is very reasonable.4 balancing u cant ima...
    I bought my royal enfield thunderbird from showroom ,after took try on every model of enfield. I choose thunderbird because...1.The most comfortable bike in all enfields. 2 the most stylish of all models in enfield.3 maintenance is very reasonable.4 balancing u cant imagine.5 easy to ride and control.
    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 5

      Service Experience

    Was this review helpful?

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    Read more
    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      6 months-1 yr

    • Ridden for

      5000-10000 kms

    • Got mileage of

      35 kmpl

    • Got mileage of

  •  3My re tbts 350 4 years ago by Abhhijit
    Style good. Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox engine is good. Good milege and gear is bit hard, but ok. Ride quality & handling comfortable ride and handling won't be an issue once you get used to. Final words totally satisfied with a bike. Before getting...

    Style good.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox engine is good. Good milege and gear is bit hard, but ok.

    Ride quality & handling comfortable ride and handling won't be an issue once you get used to.

    Final words totally satisfied with a bike. Before getting it, i prepared myself because that was my first experience with the bike before that i was using pulser 150cc. I already aware that it is not a normal japanese kind bike so whatever issues i had faced after getting it, it was not surprised me. I have learn few safety and riding tricks by experience. So when i realizes someone is complaining about these machines i always count these people in that japanese kind bike rider class. They are not matured enough for these machines. I am not saying that i am perfect here, but i always try to be. Few tricks may be it helps new comers,

    i) always first start in a day with kick not using button start.

    Ii) keep a bike start in an ideal rpm (700-100 rpm) for atleast 2 mins.

    Iii) before taking it in first gear gives some acceleration (about 1.5K-2k rpm).

    Iv) ride smoothly, try to up-shift gear when engine rpm reaches upto 2.5K-3k rpm.

    V) try to ride bike in proper gear. (Many times i do not able to shift it in fifth gear due to road conditions).

    Vi) use proper engine oil (i use motul 3000 4t plus 15w50) and replace it after certain intervals (5k-6k).

    Vii) try to keep your bike clean. Do it by yourself, because it gives you better understanding of your bike.

    Viii) learn little maintenance by reading user manual.

    Ix) feel your bike. It will respond you.

    I have completed almost 35k in 2 years, including some long trips.

    Yes! totally satisfied.

    Areas of improvement need some basic training to new riders.

    Pros

    good engine, good mileage

    cons

    few negligible manufacturing defects

    • 3

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Performance

    • 3

      Comfort

    Was this review helpful?

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    Read more
    • Got mileage of

  •  3This is not a "fanboy" review 5 years ago by Avadhesh
    As the header says, i'm not writing the review as a "fanboy". I read countless reviews of the re bikes before i went for a tbts last year and have been reading them steadily. I always believe that re bikes are shortchanged by reviewers -- the main problem is that the ex...

    As the header says, i'm not writing the review as a "fanboy". I read countless reviews of the re bikes before i went for a tbts last year and have been reading them steadily. I always believe that re bikes are shortchanged by reviewers -- the main problem is that the expectations of the reviewers from the bike are often entirely different and sometimes not at all what the bike is supposed to meet in the first place !!

    for example, people say that re bikes are "unreliable" -- well, i have a tbts for 18 months now -- and i have taken it on various solo trips . Not once has it failed on me. The key is to give the bike a look-over every now and then and if anything doesn't look right, get it tightened, adjusted or fixed straightaway -- a stitch in time folks , it's not an old saying for no reason. You cannot simply accuse your bike of being unreliable if you allow things to go bad. If you say that a bike is no good if it requires such frequent maintenance checks -- then unfortunately, the re is not the bike for you, but don't accuse it of being unreliable.

    Another thing that i'd like to mention is that a re bike requires a very good mechanic to make it work perfectly. Not many mechanics -- not many in the authorised service centers either -- have that touch. In fact, i believe so many people complain about re bikes simply becaue the its a fault on the part of re themselves that their service center staff is often not good enough. So, for an re you need to find a good mechanic in your area -- one with reputation and experience and this little thing can make a lot of difference in how your bike behaves. Secondly : fuel -efficiency -- one of the most common complaints of reviewers. My bike gives a steady mileage of around 46kmpl on the highway and around 40-42 kmpl in city conditions -- i think it is a very good fuel efficiency for an engine that size. Yes, it could be improved, but it isn't bad either. Those who accuse an re of bad fuel efficiency -- again, your expectations are not in sync with reality -- you need to go for the lighter bikes that claim to give 60+ kmpl. To conclude the preamble -- before buying a re bike, and definitely before calling it worthless or unreliable, you need to ask yourself what do you need a bike for -- if you need a bike that can be neglected for months and will still perform perfectly, giving a fuel efficiency of 60kmpl or more at the same time -- then a re is not what you need to buy.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox engine runs smoothly without many hiccups. Self-start is a boon, but is a bit tricky to catch on to than most other bikes. Power output, given the size of the engine, is a little less -- but not that much. The torque, too, is a bit low for an engine this size but provides enough acceleration to leave traffic behind. Fuel economy is fair. Gear shifting is a bit crude with false neutrals occassionally -- one area that has scope of improvement.

    Ride quality & handling balance is very good, the bike (tbts) doesn't feel heavy at all while riding. Best feel of the ride is between 60 and 80 kmph. Beyond 90kmph the ride becomes shaky, esp if there are strong crosswinds. (Not that i recommend riding a bike at more than 90kmph on any indian road).

    Final words despite of all the negative reviews, i consider a re tbts to be a very well balanced bike that will take care of you if you give it a little attention. The bike's price-tag is a bit on the higher side considering all it's pros and cons. I'd be happier if the bike was priced at 1.1Lakh or whereabouts. Also, the re company need to have better servicing staff at their outlets and workshops.

    Pros

    styling, comfort, fuel economy.

    Cons

    cost, non-homogeneous service

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 3

      Performance

    • 3

      Comfort

    Was this review helpful?

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    Read more
    • Got mileage of

  •  5Gagandeep singh 4 years ago by Gagandeep Singh
    Style awesome. Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox super good but problem in getting neutral. Ride quality & handling superb final words the bike is not at all meant for racing. It is meant for comfort, easyness, power. It is a beast and not a rabbit . You ...

    Style awesome.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox super good but problem in getting neutral.

    Ride quality & handling superb

    final words the bike is not at all meant for racing. It is meant for comfort, easyness, power. It is a beast and not a rabbit . You never expect beast to run. But beast has raw power.

    Areas of improvement show room staff needs to be more learned. The sales girl started arguing once i asked for the bill of the accesories. They openly claim extra money for bill . The accessories are of the lowest and cheapest quality.

    Pros

    power, comfort, looks, stability , easy

    cons

    ill mannered, un professional staff at show rooms.

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    Was this review helpful?

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    Read more
    • Got mileage of

  •  4Re thunder bird 350 6 years ago by Adrian
    Style in the indian cruiser section this bike has got a dominating style, it certainly seems to have a bold look on the road compared to other bikes. Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox the performance with this bike was a bit disappointing as it lacked appropp...

    Style

    in the indian cruiser section this bike has got a dominating style, it certainly seems to have a bold look on the road compared to other bikes.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox

    the performance with this bike was a bit disappointing as it lacked approppriate pick up considering the power it has. Gear box definitely need to be smoother as you may tend to get ambiguous as to which gear you may be riding in.

    Ride quality & handling

    ride quality is excellent for a cruiser and has the best handling capabilty among all the other enfields.

    Final words

    worth buying if you know your in for long distance jaunts or don't mind investing in petrol atleast twice a month for a full tank. Still its dominating image can't be ignored and definitely worth the buy if you want to make an impression on city roads. Still nothing beats a long test drive.

    Areas of improvement

    handling can be a bit more smooth.

    Pros

    comfort, new styling, features, handling

    cons

    fuel economy.

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 3

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    Was this review helpful?

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    Read more
    • Got mileage of

  •  3Bike for long trips  1 year ago by Kaushik
    I'm using this bike from last 3 years. The bike is good if you're long distance travellers. It won't perform good in city. In traffic you'll cry for this bike, why you brought. Overall the bike is ok. In city commute you'll feel the power is less. The bike is heavy, if ...
    I'm using this bike from last 3 years. The bike is good if you're long distance travellers. It won't perform good in city. In traffic you'll cry for this bike, why you brought. Overall the bike is ok. In city commute you'll feel the power is less. The bike is heavy, if you're good health then you can manage this. You can't view in rear mirror because there is lot of vibration. If you're planning this bike only for trips then this is really good. Otherwise for city traffic it is worse machine.
    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 3

      Reliability

    • 2

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 3

      Service Experience

    Was this review helpful?

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    Read more
    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

    • Got mileage of

      32 kmpl

    • Got mileage of

  •  4Sweety 6 years ago by Pranay Rote
    Style its very stylish and strog filling bike. And color its have twilight colour its suprb. Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox engine is 350 cc and give u strong and great filling while draiving. Ride quality & handling its second name is highway cruser.A...

    Style its very stylish and strog filling bike. And color its have twilight colour its suprb.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox engine is 350 cc and give u strong and great filling while draiving.

    Ride quality & handling its second name is highway cruser.And it shuld be highway cruser.Make u fill riding on cruser.

    Final words it is the best bike from all royal enfild bullet..Style performans and loook.

    Areas of improvement waiting time is tooooooo long.

    Pros

    bullet sound

    cons

    waiting time

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Performance

    • 3

      Comfort

    Was this review helpful?

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    Read more
    • Got mileage of

  •  4Tb 350cc lightning 2014 5 years ago by Swapnil Tripathi
    Style- it's a true blue cruiser. Led tail lamp and projector headlamp set you apart from crowd. The instrumentation cluster looks very good with its blue backlight and is very informative. Overall road presence is awesome😎. Engine performance, fuel economy and g...

    Style- it's a true blue cruiser. Led tail lamp and projector headlamp set you apart from crowd. The instrumentation cluster looks very good with its blue backlight and is very informative. Overall road presence is awesome😎.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox

    engine feels a bit underpowered while cruising and overtaking. Otherwise for city rides its very good. Most suited for cruising @80-90kmph above that it feels a bit strained. Most comfortable between 2000-3500rpm. It has a red line at 5500rpm so 3000rpm means 80-85kmph in 5th gear😉. No overheating issues.

    Fuel economy re says anywhere between 22-42kmpl. I get 44kmpl in the city and 47 on highway.

    Gearbox clunky. Hits false nuetral sometimes.

    Ride quality & handling

    ride quality ride quality is exceptionally good for the rider thanks to exceptionally good ergonomics. Seats uses a generous amount of foam for long ride comfort. Although the same cannot be said for pillion rider as pillion seat is tiny.

    Handling well cruisers and handling do not go together but i think while designing new thunderbird designers at re had handling as top priority. It leans into corners very comfortably and will inspire confidence in riders. City ride is also easy but in heavy traffic maneuvering this bike is difficult due to its heavy weight.

    Final words if a cruiser is what you are looking for then thunderbird is the best option available in the price range of below 2lacs.

    Areas of improvement

    1. The brakes could do with a bit more bite.

    2. Vibes extremely high above 4000rpm.

    3. Gearbox refinement and shift feel.

    4. The fuel gauge has a mind of its own.

    Pros

    style, comfort, 20l fuel tank, thump!!

    cons

    vibes, gearbox

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 3

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    Was this review helpful?

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    Read more
    • Got mileage of

  •  4My arrogance 2 years ago by Divyanshu
    That's not a bike that is a symbol of arrogant looks for me. Ride it and show your attitude because that belongs to attitude. When i move with my thunderbird all the people feel thunder with my lovely bird . All other biker looks like greedy eyes . Which shows that actu...

    That's not a bike that is a symbol of arrogant looks for me. Ride it and show your attitude because that belongs to attitude.

    When i move with my thunderbird all the people feel thunder with my lovely bird . All other biker looks like greedy eyes . Which shows that actually what i am riding wow feel for me

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    Was this review helpful?

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    Read more
    • Used it for

      Leisure Rides

    • Owned for

      < 3 months

    • Ridden for

      < 5000 kms

    • Got mileage of

  •  4Comfort at my age ... 4 years ago by Shiv
    Style i am 53 years, 6 foot 2" and ths style of thunderbird 350 suits my profile. Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox overall easy to ride and steady at around 80 km / hour. Not meant for beyond that speed. Ride quality & handling easy to ride and handle. F...

    Style i am 53 years, 6 foot 2" and ths style of thunderbird 350 suits my profile.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox overall easy to ride and steady at around 80 km / hour. Not meant for beyond that speed.

    Ride quality & handling easy to ride and handle.

    Final words i thought a lot before i purchased a new thunderbird 350 at my age of 53 years with 6 foot 2" height and i have not been biking since my : yezdi " days, 25 years ago. I am certainly enjoying riding my new thunderbird 350 and its a steady , easy to ride cruiser.

    Areas of improvement wish, it had a little bit of more torque.

    Pros

    excellent riding , steady handling, stylish and solid track record ..

    Cons

    wish it had more power ...

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 3

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    Was this review helpful?

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    Read more
    • Got mileage of

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Report

Rate your bike

Share your experience about this bike

Royal Enfield Thunderbird 350 Expert Opinion

  • Good Things

    • Comfortable for long rides
    • Good service reach
    • Has a powerful brand image
  • Could be Better

    • 350cc engine has a lot of vibrations
    • Feels heavy to manage
    • Brakes could be better

Expert Reviews on Thunderbird 350

Read all expert reviews

Looking to buy Thunderbird 350 on EMI?

Check out the down payment and EMI options in your city. Use the EMI calculator to get the right combination suited to your needs.

}

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Report

Please tell us your city

This allows us to provide relevant content for you.

Please enter your city
Confirm city