TVS Apache RTR 160 user reviews

Overall rating:4.3 / 5148 ratings
4

Tvs rtr 160 the work horse

4 years ago by22,792 views

Style

the rtr 160 has been a decent looking motorcycle with proportionate design and styling. The latest iteration of the rtr had its tryst with aggressive styling but the results are disputed.

Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox

the 160cc 15.4Bhp mill has been doing its duty on the rtr pretty well. The oversquare engine is free revving and revs cleanly upto the red-line of 9000rpm for the stock engine. Though there is no rev limiter, you can feel the power dip beyong 9500rpm. The power delivery is progressive through the rev range and the racing throttle response system helps the bike performm well in the mid range. One thing that dents the rtr experience are the engine vibrations that creep in near 5000rpm and are felt right up to the red line.

Ride quality & handling

the racing inspired two-piece handle bars are well positioned giving the rider an aggressive posture. The ergonomics of the motorcyle are track oriented and the power delivery of the bike does justice to it. The motorcycle design is bang on target giving the bike a proper balance and stability on straight line as well as around corners. In city traffic, in spite of the two-piece handle bar, the bike is very easy to maneouvre and the good mid-range reponse makes it a delight to ride. The vibrations peak between 5000rpm to 6000rpm, which is sadly the normal riding rev range inindia and hence long rides on this bike make your palms go numb. The seat is soft and more comfortable in comparison wit its competitors. The brakes are pretty much enough for the bike but the tvs tyres do not inspire comfidence.

Final words

the tvs rtr 160 is a small, puny and powerful bike which is a great package for on road as well as track riding. The engine is a gem in terms of power delivery and longevity. The fuel economy is good. If tvs can work around the nvh of teh engine, the motorcycle will be a true piece of art.

Areas of improvement

engine vibrations, styling

pros

build quality, power, throttle response, longevity

cons

vibrations

  • 3

    Visual Appeal

  • 3

    Comfort

  • 4

    Value for Money

Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

More reviews on Apache RTR 160

  •  4Awesome bike 2 days ago by Kapil Yadav

    I have purchased this bike on 2nd June and i am riding this bike amazing control and performance i have, am going to purchase a second bike apache 160 in few days for my nephew.

    Superb bike i like it so much everything is best in the bike there is no issue in the bike,

    I have purchased this bike on 2nd June and i am riding this bike amazing control and performance i have, am going to purchase a second bike apache 160 in few days for my nephew.

    Superb bike i like it so much everything is best in the bike there is no issue in the bike, bike gets speed in the few second and also control very easily.

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    • 5

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      3-6 months

    • Ridden for

      < 5000 kms

  •  5Bike with a superb look  3 days ago by Abdul Mannan

    It was my good decision to take this bike. It the most smooth bike with superb pick up. Looks are all good. Amazing performance.Low maintain. Very addictive bike good speed with digital meter, disk brakes. Best bike for the people who want to travel fast. With good

    It was my good decision to take this bike. It the most smooth bike with superb pick up. Looks are all good. Amazing performance.Low maintain. Very addictive bike good speed with digital meter, disk brakes. Best bike for the people who want to travel fast. With good mileage. Low fuel cost good road grip.

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 5

      Service Experience

    • 4

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  •  3Apache unleash the beast 1 week ago by Ram

    This is a good bike, when it came out i loved riding and and it is smooth with good pickup . The look is also tough and manly i loved this bike personally. One of the best from tvs company .The graphics of the bike is also very attractive. This bike is running very

    This is a good bike, when it came out i loved riding and and it is smooth with good pickup . The look is also tough and manly i loved this bike personally. One of the best from tvs company .The graphics of the bike is also very attractive. This bike is running very well on Indian road and its mileage is 40 km to 50km.

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    • 4

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  •  4My dream bike 1 week ago by Rahul Kumar Singh

    I bought it from mehul tvs, near polytechnic chouraha. Service they provided was awesome. Riding experience is amazing as well as balancing as we always talk about balance system in any bike. It has a killer look. Servicing and maintenance is worthy as anyone can

    I bought it from mehul tvs, near polytechnic chouraha. Service they provided was awesome. Riding experience is amazing as well as balancing as we always talk about balance system in any bike. It has a killer look. Servicing and maintenance is worthy as anyone can afford rs 700 service cost in average when in warranty and rs 1000 average cost when out of warranty.

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 5

      Service Experience

    • 5

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      6 months-1 yr

    • Ridden for

      5000-10000 kms

  •  5Apache rtr 160 awesome  1 week ago by Kiran Maurya

    Before buying this bike i had trial all bikes in this segment like pulsar,cbz,fzs etc but over all i like apache rtr 160.

    It is very smooth to riding and balance is awesome.

    Looking wise is genuine comfort with younger boys and uncle type people like 40 50 year age group

    Before buying this bike i had trial all bikes in this segment like pulsar,cbz,fzs etc but over all i like apache rtr 160.

    It is very smooth to riding and balance is awesome.

    Looking wise is genuine comfort with younger boys and uncle type people like 40 50 year age group people also.

    Low maintenance and average is good as compare to other bike in this segment.

    Over all it is very good bike for daily purpose .

    I am satisfy with this bike and also fan for this balance during riding.

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  •  4Awesome feeling 1 week ago by Aftab Khan

    An awesome feeling...It's a very fantastic bike you should buy it for your home or for your self ....I am satisfied on this deal deal very safe to buy an awesome bike with good mileage and a smart look............It very effective and awesome feeling to ride it.. Very

    An awesome feeling...It's a very fantastic bike you should buy it for your home or for your self ....I am satisfied on this deal deal very safe to buy an awesome bike with good mileage and a smart look............It very effective and awesome feeling to ride it.. Very comfortable and good to ride

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 5

      Service Experience

    • 4

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      3-6 months

    • Ridden for

      10000-15000 kms

  •  4Loud and racing 1 week ago by Nayan Rajbongshi

    1. It was so exciting buying this bike. I fell for its style and design.

    2. Riding is another great experience. Every time i start the bike the sound vrooom !! and there it goes

    3. Look was the main reason i bought it. And for the performance its doing well to me till

    1. It was so exciting buying this bike. I fell for its style and design.

    2. Riding is another great experience. Every time i start the bike the sound vrooom !! and there it goes

    3. Look was the main reason i bought it. And for the performance its doing well to me till now.

    4. Tvs bikes has descent service it has not bothered me till now.

    5. Good design and powerful engine to sooth your mind but give a little less mileage for a long drive !

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 3

      Service Experience

    • 4

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      6 months-1 yr

    • Ridden for

      < 5000 kms

  • Best road grip

    Sports bike look

    Good service

    Most that the bike parts are give extremely good service

    i have never seen this type of sports bike

    Who has give every satisfaction and i like my bike most & i ride apache rtr 160 last 6 years & on driving i have never

    Best road grip

    Sports bike look

    Good service

    Most that the bike parts are give extremely good service

    i have never seen this type of sports bike

    Who has give every satisfaction and i like my bike most & i ride apache rtr 160 last 6 years & on driving i have never accident on my bike & that is the great thing !!!!

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 5

      Service Experience

    • 5

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  •  4Honest review for bs4 2017 model 1 week ago by Dinesh Kotwad

    1.Now buying(after gst):

    When i bought this it was around 93k in my city but after gst it drop 10k so this is the golden chance to buy that bike with bs4 model.

    2.Riding:

    I would like to say that this bike have great experience for any rider like it is lie in between

    1.Now buying(after gst):

    When i bought this it was around 93k in my city but after gst it drop 10k so this is the golden chance to buy that bike with bs4 model.

    2.Riding:

    I would like to say that this bike have great experience for any rider like it is lie in between sport and basic bikes.The handling and performance is best.I ride it 5000 km and feel no change that reason to realize me that it is 1yrs old bike.The mileage is 45 to 50 kmpl if u ride in between 45 to 55 kmph speed or if u ride 60 to 85 it will give you 36kmph.

    3.Looks :

    As i say the bikes look compete with sports and basic both bikes if i say about my colleague friends they have 1st option for the apache-rtr. In white color it is looking like a white horse the headlamp is going to blow up your eye in night.The main things has the bike as lacks the only vibration at more than 85 speed i wish company should looks on it.

    4.Performance and maintenance:bike has 159.7cc engine so it is just costly then a standard bike of 125 cc .But in india bike is going to common so as we know the quantity bring the cheapest price for maintaining.The chain of this bike should be changed after 2000km of rides.And the proper maintenance brings smothered performance of the bike and good pickup rate and mileage.

    5.Overall *:the bike as awesome looks and design,bike available in customer to more option like front disk only,various colors etc.It has good mileage than other competence.Only lack of the bike is vibration during high speed.

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 3

      Service Experience

    • 4

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      5000-10000 kms

  •  4Amazing 160 rtr 2 weeks ago by Nitin Sardesai

    Riding this bike is very comfortable on any road. Servicing is not a big issue,if you maintain it periodically.Overall it's a good bike for Indian roads.

    Only drawback of this bike is sometimes the key connecting to kick/starter broke and creates problem.I had a

    Riding this bike is very comfortable on any road. Servicing is not a big issue,if you maintain it periodically.Overall it's a good bike for Indian roads.

    Only drawback of this bike is sometimes the key connecting to kick/starter broke and creates problem.I had a experience of the same twice.

    But coverall it's a good bike

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    • 4

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      10000-15000 kms

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

TVS Apache RTR 160

4.3 (148 ratings) 64 reviews

Ex-showroom, Mumbai

 74,617
View model details

Rate your bike

Share your experience about this bike

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Please tell us your city

This allows us to provide relevant content for you.

Please enter your city
Confirm city