Royal Enfield Thunderbird 350 user reviews

Overall rating:4.1 / 555 ratings
4

Re thunder bird 350

3 years ago by27,314 views

Style

in the indian cruiser section this bike has got a dominating style, it certainly seems to have a bold look on the road compared to other bikes.

Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox

the performance with this bike was a bit disappointing as it lacked approppriate pick up considering the power it has. Gear box definitely need to be smoother as you may tend to get ambiguous as to which gear you may be riding in.

Ride quality & handling

ride quality is excellent for a cruiser and has the best handling capabilty among all the other enfields.

Final words

worth buying if you know your in for long distance jaunts or don't mind investing in petrol atleast twice a month for a full tank. Still its dominating image can't be ignored and definitely worth the buy if you want to make an impression on city roads. Still nothing beats a long test drive.

Areas of improvement

handling can be a bit more smooth.

Pros

comfort, new styling, features, handling

cons

fuel economy.

  • 4

    Visual Appeal/Looks

  • 3

    Performance

  • 4

    Comfort

Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

More reviews on Thunderbird 350

  •  5Worthful 2 days ago by Koushik

    I felt very happy after buying this bike. It's riding experience is awesome with an awesome look.

    A bit extra mileage would be great.

    It's worth enough for the price.

    It looks gorgeous.

    It's pros are it's looks and the comfort levels that one feels while driving the

    I felt very happy after buying this bike. It's riding experience is awesome with an awesome look.

    A bit extra mileage would be great.

    It's worth enough for the price.

    It looks gorgeous.

    It's pros are it's looks and the comfort levels that one feels while driving the bike... It's speed was very comfortable

    • 5

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 4

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      5000-10000 kms

  •  4My arrogance 3 weeks ago by Divyanshu

    That's not a bike that is a symbol of arrogant looks for me. Ride it and show your attitude because that belongs to attitude.

    When i move with my thunderbird all the people feel thunder with my lovely bird . All other biker looks like greedy eyes . Which shows that

    That's not a bike that is a symbol of arrogant looks for me. Ride it and show your attitude because that belongs to attitude.

    When i move with my thunderbird all the people feel thunder with my lovely bird . All other biker looks like greedy eyes . Which shows that actually what i am riding wow feel for me

    • 4

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 4

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Leisure Rides

    • Owned for

      < 3 months

    • Ridden for

      < 5000 kms

  •  4The riders choice 3 weeks ago by Fredrick

    One of the most manly machine i have ever handled in my life. Felt like driving a space shuttle on street. The most fascinating merchant friendly service. Comfortable seats with rider adaptive cushion . Has a fame in having such a one .Drastic speed and smooth

    One of the most manly machine i have ever handled in my life. Felt like driving a space shuttle on street. The most fascinating merchant friendly service. Comfortable seats with rider adaptive cushion . Has a fame in having such a one .Drastic speed and smooth operations comparatively. Loved it re thunderbird

    • 4

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 3

      Comfort

    • 5

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Tours

    • Owned for

      Never owned

  •  4The best bike a man can get 3 weeks ago by Kalyan

    First of all the comfort this bike gives is amazing and the engine sound makes me feel like not getting down from it. It's little on heavier side and for long trips it's the best you can get with that mileage. Already i have travelled 20k km and never faced an issue.

    First of all the comfort this bike gives is amazing and the engine sound makes me feel like not getting down from it. It's little on heavier side and for long trips it's the best you can get with that mileage. Already i have travelled 20k km and never faced an issue. For better experience it's advisable to give service in authorised service centres and see the magic.

    • 5

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 5

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      6 months-1 yr

    • Ridden for

      < 5000 kms

  •  1Dont buy re tbts  3 weeks ago by Vjgeorge87

    The overall quality "sucks"

    a) instrument cluster does not work properly (replace 4 times during warranty) even then its not working so living with it

    b) fuel gauge is not working accurately, right now i have replaced it with pulsar 220f's fuel gauge which is apparently

    The overall quality "sucks"

    a) instrument cluster does not work properly (replace 4 times during warranty) even then its not working so living with it

    b) fuel gauge is not working accurately, right now i have replaced it with pulsar 220f's fuel gauge which is apparently working just fine

    c) oil leaks on either side of the engine

    d) gear shifts are hard

    c) the idle is very low sometimes when it is going to off state, the gears make a rattling noise which is heard at least 300m.

    D) service is pathetic so i rely on local mechanic which he does a decent job

    • 3

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 2

      Reliability

    • 2

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 2

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  •  1Gm 3 weeks ago by Graceson

    1. Buying experience

    it took about one month to get this bike after booking and it cost me 1.75 Lack (on road ) . I would say the buying experience was average

    2 .Riding experience

    it vibrates a lot when cruising through the highways at speeds between 60 to 80

    1. Buying experience

    it took about one month to get this bike after booking and it cost me 1.75 Lack (on road ) . I would say the buying experience was average

    2 .Riding experience

    it vibrates a lot when cruising through the highways at speeds between 60 to 80 kmph ,the back view mirrors are useless . The headlight focus a bit downward and you can't adjust its orientation. The bike had many issues such as oil leakage ,noise etc

    3 looks and performance

    the one star i gave is just for looks . The performance is not that satisfying and also its mileage is between 27(highways) 36 (city ) i don't know that the hell is wrong with my bike its mileage drops significantly when cruising around 60kmph i took it to the service center but they told they don't know what's wrong with the bike.

    4. Service and maintenance

    its expensive to maintain the bike when compared to other bikes . Most of the issues such as vibration of mirrors, noise etc can't be removed. The parts are also expensive but u can find cheaper aftermarket parts .

    5 Pros and cons

    it look good and its comfortable to ride other than that i can't find anything good . I don't know why are they still using carburetor instead of fuel injection. I will not recommended anyone to buy this bike .

    • 4

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 1

      Reliability

    • 3

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 2

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      6 months-1 yr

    • Ridden for

      5000-10000 kms

  •  4The comfortable bike 1 month ago by Akash Kumar

    When you buy a thunderbird.... Don't just buy it for the looks or the pride. Buy it for the comfort and pleasure it gives you when you ride it. It's a heavy bike thus steady. Its ride is comfortable thus when you go for long rides it gives lesser strain on your back. A

    When you buy a thunderbird.... Don't just buy it for the looks or the pride. Buy it for the comfort and pleasure it gives you when you ride it. It's a heavy bike thus steady. Its ride is comfortable thus when you go for long rides it gives lesser strain on your back. A good engine gives lesser troubles on the road. But regular maintenance of vehicle is necessary. If you don't take care of the bike then it starts to give you trouble. It is not meant for racing thus no so good at high speeds. But does excellent when driving at moderate speeds. It is the most comfortable, stylish and dependable bike from royal enfield.

    • 4

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 4

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 3

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  •  3If you re ready to live with the cons  1 month ago by Ameya More

    Cons -

    low end torque is low (max generated way towards redline)

    brakes lack feel

    brakes aren't powerful enough (tend to lock up)

    it vibrates at around 3k rpm (yes it does)

    not rev happy engine, could be more refined

    doesn't like to speed

    sluggish in corners ( not

    Cons -

    low end torque is low (max generated way towards redline)

    brakes lack feel

    brakes aren't powerful enough (tend to lock up)

    it vibrates at around 3k rpm (yes it does)

    not rev happy engine, could be more refined

    doesn't like to speed

    sluggish in corners ( not confidence inspiring)

    no electronic aids (abs would be appreciated)

    fuel gauge isn't reliable (switches aren't reliable either)

    suspension could be set up better.

    Not a head turner anymore :(

    pros -

    it's a re

    you get the heritage participation

    looks great (at least me)

    better design then previous generation

    sharper handling (compared to classic or bullet)

    better weight distribution (compared to classic or bullet)

    premium (compared to classic or bullet)

    • 3

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 2

      Reliability

    • 2

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 2

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  •  5The royal beast 1 month ago by Snehasish Choudhury

    The experience of riding this bike has been awesome. Great balance and good braking system. The bike wont move a little even if you apply brakes at 50-60 kms/hr. Super acceleration as well. Good ground clearance and great value for money. Mileage stands at 35-40 kms

    The experience of riding this bike has been awesome. Great balance and good braking system. The bike wont move a little even if you apply brakes at 50-60 kms/hr. Super acceleration as well. Good ground clearance and great value for money. Mileage stands at 35-40 kms per litre. Low maintenance, just make sure you service it on time and take good care of it (avoid riding it to a pothole or something). Looks great and its no doubt the indian harley.

    I make sure i take her for a wash every 15 days or so and regularly swipe it with a clean cloth.

    Pros-

    braking system

    mileage

    looks

    acceleration

    fat tyres with great grip

    high comfort level (i hardly got any back pains even after a long and rusty ride)

    cons-

    none so far

    i have taken it for long rides and also use it for daily commute and its been a great experience till now.

    Love for royal enfield- peace \m/

    • 5

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 5

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      5000-10000 kms

  • The buying experience was a bliss.As it's no surprise that at this price range,an indian consumer has a default mindset...To go for a royal enfield.Same was the case with me.But me being a bike enthusiast was always and still am sceptical about the brand solely because

    The buying experience was a bliss.As it's no surprise that at this price range,an indian consumer has a default mindset...To go for a royal enfield.Same was the case with me.But me being a bike enthusiast was always and still am sceptical about the brand solely because of the fact that they do not want to add features to the bike.I agree...People buy a royal enfield for the cult following it has and the sheer road presence,still....Adding a little more value would make the bike even a better value proposition.

    Coming to the bike itself...I chose the thunderbird because the classic was too much of a cliché...Add to the fact that for a little premium over the classic 350...The end user will get a rear disc, projector headlamp,bigger tank and a fuel gauge(which is useless to be true...Never gives the exact reading).The thunderbird is also preferable for people of a relatively low height because the saddle height is relatively lower when compared to other royal enfield without compensating much on the ground clearance.

    The service experience till now has been average to be precise but it was anything but bad.The people at the showroom and the service center are very cooperative and work like professionals.

    Pros-

    1.Torque...Lots of it....-Now because the bike has a larger bore,there is ample amount of torque available on the bike.This helps a lot because it does not require frequent gear changes.A lot of people might disagree with me on this but that's what i have experienced as of yet

    2.Looks -....The bike looks like a proper cruiser and grabs eyeballs wherever i go...It has more chrome than google :p.....It's been almost 3 years now that i've owned this bike.But the bike still has got its charm and road presence

    3.Suits every rider despite height variation- now this is a very big advantage of owning a thunderbird.Because of the low saddle height and the adjustable handlebars....The bike can accommodate rider of varying heights.It also makes the bike a proper cruiser and is helpful in long rides

    cons-

    1.Royal enfield skimping on features-adding little features especially abs is a must nowadays.For a bike which costs over a lakh and weighs close to 200 kgs ....A proper dual channel abs system must be provided.Royal enfield have introduced abs in the bikes they sell abroad...I hope they bring it here asap

    2 because of the weight and the large handlebars,it's very tough to maneuver the bike in traffic and through gaps

    3.Quality issues- royal enfields sure do come up with their own set of glitches.The decompressor which is now inside the uc engine still makes the typical irritating sound which is common in all royal enfields.It can be fixed by just fixing up the spring coil inside the engine but apparently the service guys don't know about it or they have been told not to open up the engine unless it's very important.The fuel gauge is just for the show.Doenst work.And proper brake pads are required

    • 5

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 3

      Reliability

    • 2

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 4

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      5000-10000 kms

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Rate your bike

Share your experience about this bike

Expert Reviews on Thunderbird 350

Bajaj Avenger 220 Cruise vs Royal Enfield Thunderbird 350 : Comparison Test
Bajaj Avenger 220 Cruise vs Royal Enfield Thunderbird 350 : Comparison Test
29 December 2015
Pratheek Kunder

We brought you the comparison between the Avenger 150 and the Suzuki Gixxer SF a few weeks back you can read it HERE So while the Avenger 150 is a new category for Bajaj to enter it has been operating with the 220cc engine for eons But the motorcycle rsquo s sales had...

Read all expert reviews

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Please tell us your city

This allows us to provide relevant content for you.

Please enter your city
Confirm city