Royal Enfield Classic Desert Storm user reviews

Overall rating:4.5 / 522 ratings
3

Storm by surprise

3 years ago by11,508 views

Style

style is based on a vintage desgin so nothing much to expect here. Albeit the color is catchy

engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox

very powerfull engine gives you a zooming pick up. Its got a fair fuel economy considering its power but the gear box may need some improvement.

Ride quality & handling

handling is bit of a nuisance as well as comfort.

Final words

buy it if your looking for a bike that has a vintage appeal with a modern engine.

Areas of improvement

handling, comfort.

Pros

power

cons

styling, handling, no comfort

  • 3

    Visual Appeal/Looks

  • 4

    Performance

  • 2

    Comfort

Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

More reviews on Classic Desert Storm

  • First, i love my bike & when i ride with my ds first time i feel like awesome. It's completed 1.5 yr. Still, there is no issue. It's riding smoothly. Many times i have gone long vacation, but the bike never fails. It's still in his power. My riding exp was, one day i

    First, i love my bike & when i ride with my ds first time i feel like awesome. It's completed 1.5 yr. Still, there is no issue. It's riding smoothly. Many times i have gone long vacation, but the bike never fails. It's still in his power. My riding exp was, one day i have to go in my hometown urgently because of my mother in critical condition. I afraid what i have to do & that time i click in mind, i have a lovable bike ds & within a second i ready and start my bike with all accessories. That time i only think i have to reach destination & it far 145 km from pune to my destination (sangamner). & i reached there within 1hr 10m. I never think, but, it was done only for royal enfiled & on the way bike never give me any problem. Only i have a problem 500cc its vibrate because of the front side engine. Expect this i never got any problem. Thanks for the royal enfiled for everything. Look & performance like no chance. Take a ride & then definitely you also love.

    • 5

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 4

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      6 months-1 yr

    • Ridden for

      10000-15000 kms

  •  3Why not the classic 500  6 days ago by Fahim Shad

    At first ride the bike feels powerful. But just a week or so later the bike has jerks , initial throttle missing and loose body parts . It cannot be cornered easily , scrapes of brake pedal and foot pegs. Talking services, most services cost about 500 rupees plus .

    At first ride the bike feels powerful. But just a week or so later the bike has jerks , initial throttle missing and loose body parts . It cannot be cornered easily , scrapes of brake pedal and foot pegs. Talking services, most services cost about 500 rupees plus .

    The pros are it looks beefy , higher displacement vehicle for such low price , customizability ( off showroom).

    The cons are weight distribution, overall weight , handling , loosening of parts , braking. Tire size.

    • 3

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 2

      Performance

    • 2

      Comfort

    • 2

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Occasional Commute

    • Owned for

      6 months-1 yr

    • Ridden for

      < 5000 kms

  •  5500 1 week ago by Mohit

    I have desert storm too, and run for 1100 kms in a month. I bought this only for its retro killer look and awesome paint job. But now i love it, here are some my observations.

    Pros :

    Looks, no model in re can match is look and its a sure head turner.

    More power, believe

    I have desert storm too, and run for 1100 kms in a month. I bought this only for its retro killer look and awesome paint job. But now i love it, here are some my observations.

    Pros :

    Looks, no model in re can match is look and its a sure head turner.

    More power, believe me it makes difference even in city riding.

    It flow like water, very smooth. If you have ridden old bullets then you can recognize this difference.

    Acceleration much better.

    Feel more confident in riding in terms of stability and and handling.

    • 4

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 1

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 5

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      < 5000 kms

  •  4This bike needs care lots of care  2 weeks ago by Mohit

    I love bikes, in fact anything that has a throttle and 2 wheels to support my weight. Any sane person who likes classic stuff will definitely appreciate the retro looks of desert storm. You pay a good amount for an unrefined, old school machine which vibrates a lot,

    I love bikes, in fact anything that has a throttle and 2 wheels to support my weight. Any sane person who likes classic stuff will definitely appreciate the retro looks of desert storm. You pay a good amount for an unrefined, old school machine which vibrates a lot, but the thump and looks keep wanting for more.

    Pros. Looks, comfortable seating, good torque at low rpm gives good lugging ability, metal body, cheap repairs and simple mechanical which can be tackled at any corner of india.

    Cons. Vibrations, lacks refinement, below average brakes, no gear indicator, sluggish gearing, average performance, poor authorised service centres and then there is rust, it's everywhere.

    I crossed himalaya with my desert storm and i absolutely loved it. I don't know the reason but it appeals every time i look at it.

    Verdict: if you want trouble free and performance oriented machines, look somewhere else. If you want the nostalgic thump, performance is not a mist and can give a lot of care to your bike, go for it.

    • 5

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 3

      Reliability

    • 2

      Performance

    • 3

      Comfort

    • 1

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  •  5No comparison 1 month ago by Narendra

    Royal enfield at its best

    this beast is far better than any bike around it, just buy it ride it and feel it

    my riding experience excelled while riding it.

    Pros :powerful engine

    elegant looks

    comfortable

    off roading compatible

    highly reliable

    cons: you cant ride any other bike

    Royal enfield at its best

    this beast is far better than any bike around it, just buy it ride it and feel it

    my riding experience excelled while riding it.

    Pros :powerful engine

    elegant looks

    comfortable

    off roading compatible

    highly reliable

    cons: you cant ride any other bike after you ride this legendary beast...

    • 5

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 4

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      10000-15000 kms

  •  4Best review for desert storm 1 month ago by Rahul

    Excellent bike for long ride & highly comfortable.Delivers high power.Cost of the bike is actually descent considering its 500cc engine.A very good looking & gives a military feeling.Services to be done timely. Maintenance is very keen to get a good mileage.

    Excellent bike for long ride & highly comfortable.Delivers high power.Cost of the bike is actually descent considering its 500cc engine.A very good looking & gives a military feeling.Services to be done timely. Maintenance is very keen to get a good mileage. Pros-highly comfortable,reliable for long rides & delivers high power.Cons-less mileage in city(20-25kmpl) depends on maintenance & silencer used.

    • 5

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 4

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 4

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Leisure Rides

    • Owned for

      3-6 months

    • Ridden for

      < 5000 kms

  •  5King of road 1 month ago by Dhairyadhar P Watharkar

    I had a plan to buy 350 classic but when i saw desert storm for display i immediately changed my mind and bought it. Bike is excellent for riding for long tours or off road or city commute. Very rugged bike. Built quality is excellent. Looks are very great and you

    I had a plan to buy 350 classic but when i saw desert storm for display i immediately changed my mind and bought it. Bike is excellent for riding for long tours or off road or city commute. Very rugged bike. Built quality is excellent. Looks are very great and you cannot take your eyes off. Performance of the bike is excellent in terms of handling and fuel efficiency. I did nor experience any breakdowns yet. Just follow the normal service schedule provided by company and bike is good. I would like company to add more power in the bike and rest all is excellent.

    • 5

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 5

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  •  3Bad things about legacy bike re ds  1 month ago by Akshay Kauthale

    You have to wait for 15 to 45 days to get yr bike after booking.Bike has good throttle response but it gives vibrations above 70kmph. Look is noticeable.High speed response is good as long stoke gives torquey punch at high rpm. Maintenance and service is good but is

    You have to wait for 15 to 45 days to get yr bike after booking.Bike has good throttle response but it gives vibrations above 70kmph. Look is noticeable.High speed response is good as long stoke gives torquey punch at high rpm. Maintenance and service is good but is costly.Brakes are not good it give worst response in rain. Air circulating pipes and other pipes get cracked after 6 to 8 months.There is no digital oil level indicator.No trip meter. Suspension and riding quality is good. Sitting position is comfortable. Clutch is heavy so feels uncomfortable in traffic. Bike is heavy but u won't feel weight while driving thanks for lower cg of bike as engine is located centrally and close to ground but also as good ground clearance.

    • 4

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 3

      Reliability

    • 3

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 4

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Tours

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      10000-15000 kms

  •  5Beast at its best on the road 2 months ago by Santhosh Kumar V
    Amazing beast. Everyone can't become this beast rider. Love to ride & initially was afraid of riding it & later got to know how it feels wen u sit on the bike. It is stylish retro look & a classic one...Performance is unmatchable & greater looks. Wen u r in highway,
    Amazing beast. Everyone can't become this beast rider. Love to ride & initially was afraid of riding it & later got to know how it feels wen u sit on the bike. It is stylish retro look & a classic one...Performance is unmatchable & greater looks. Wen u r in highway, u can feel the power of beast. Servicing make sure, u ve it only in recognised service centers r else u ll c the worst side of the bike. I'm maintaining it has my second wife...If u want the beast to be with you longer time, maintain it properly..I want to ride it more & more royaly enfielded
    • 5

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 4

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      5000-10000 kms

  •  5Really royal 1 year ago by Vipin Singh

    Style some additions or customization it became awesome.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox good, ok (be rich) and gearbox is drawback of bike.

    Ride quality & handling super.

    Final words it feels amazing when ride this.

    Areas of improvement gear box,

    Style some additions or customization it became awesome.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox good, ok (be rich) and gearbox is drawback of bike.

    Ride quality & handling super.

    Final words it feels amazing when ride this.

    Areas of improvement gear box, rear drum brake, seat hight should be lill low, head light, i had issues with fuse alot of time.

    Pros

    power (bhp)

    cons

    gear shift, rear drum break

    • 5

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 4

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Rate your bike

Share your experience about this bike

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Please tell us your city

This allows us to provide relevant content for you.

Please enter your city
Confirm city