Mahindra Rodeo user reviews

Overall rating:2.6 / 516 ratings
4

A fuel guzzler

3 years ago by5,127 views

Style

a stylishly built scooter stands out in the crowd and is beaten probably only by yamaha ray or honda dio on looks parametre. Nonetheless the structure is basic enough to not let a senior citizen out of place while riding. The plastics could have been better. However, the scooter provides you with a huge storage, digital display panel, anti theft lock key and a led light in storage space and makes it one of a kind feature rich scooter. Overall 7.5 On 10 for style.

Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox

mahindra has come up with a winderful engine. Amazing pick up followed by a top performance and the bike reaches 80-85 kmph with unbelievable ease and yet provides the stability that one needs. On road performance wise it leaves its competitiors like activa otr wego way behind. Probably suzuki access matches its performnace. 8 On 10 for engine performance.

Fuel economy os the biggest letdown by the mahindra rodeo. Whereas all the competitors tender a figure between 42 and 47 kmpl, rodeo stands at a disappointing 32 kmpl. Carry it through a heavy traffic and the figure stoops below 30 kmpl.

Moreover, the digital panel provides the reading only for 2.5 Ltrs of fuel while the tank measures 4.5 Ltrs. That means you assume you have 4.5 Ltrs in the kitty as the fuel metre shows that but realise later that you have run out of fuel in the midst of a travel.

Overall 3 on 10 for fuel economy.

Ride quality & handling

ride quality is amazing. The turning radius is not probably as fine as a tvs wego but the ride is much comfortable and enjoyable than any other competitior except probably yamaha ray or suzuki access.

Handelling too is impressive and it slips through the traffice very well. Responds well on turns and yes it is unbelievably stable compared to its sleek looks.

Overall 8.5 On 10 for ride quality and handling.

Final words

mahindra rodeo is a performer and will not disappoint you if you are looking for a performance oriented scooter. Fuel economy is a curse to this scooter and that itself is biggets deterrent in buying it. You can shut your eyes and buy it if your daily commutting is around 10 km. More than that and you feel the pinch on your pocket.

No resale value. A three year old scooter won't fetch you even 20000/- in second hand market.

Areas of improvement

fuel economy. I am not sure if the rz model has a improved fuel economy but for the standard model it is a disaster.

Pros

power and pick up, suspension, style and features

cons

fuel economy

  • 4

    Visual Appeal

  • 4

    Comfort

  • 3

    Value for Money

Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

More reviews on Rodeo

  •  4The roaring rodeo  2 days ago by Sayantan

    To be very honest it is an awesome scooty. It beats the other vehicles on the roads with easing grace and has no problems getting into the 80's. Moreover it also has classy looks and feels comfortable to ride and has even a large seat. So if you are looking for a

    To be very honest it is an awesome scooty. It beats the other vehicles on the roads with easing grace and has no problems getting into the 80's. Moreover it also has classy looks and feels comfortable to ride and has even a large seat. So if you are looking for a mahindra scooty you have got to pick up the mahindra rodeo

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 3

      Service Experience

    • 5

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  •  2My first scootermahindra rodeo 6 days ago by Keshu Kant

    Mahindra could have ruled the scooter segment with rodeo but this scooter is nothing but a bunch full of troubles.

    Back in 2011 when i bought mahindra rodeo it had some of the amazing features which no other scooter had

    1. Rodeo is the only scooter till date which has an

    Mahindra could have ruled the scooter segment with rodeo but this scooter is nothing but a bunch full of troubles.

    Back in 2011 when i bought mahindra rodeo it had some of the amazing features which no other scooter had

    1. Rodeo is the only scooter till date which has an external fuel fill that also in the front

    2. Back at that time rodeo was the only scooter to have a seat under light

    3.Ignition shutter lock

    4.Full digital meter with low fuel indicator and over speed indicator(when>60km/hr)

    5.Powerful 125cc engine first in its segment

    6.Telescopic suspension

    Now comes the annoying list of cons:

    1. Poor ignition system(difficult to start the scooter in cold weather)

    2.Worst ground clearance(gets stuck at bumpers)

    3.Poor service and lack of spare parts

    4.Worst thing the digital meter(my scooter's meter is worn out & the display is not visible also it never switches off and is on 24x7 only drains my battery all this started when my scooter got drenched in heavy rain)

    5.Petrol pipe problem (got it replaced because petrol was not reaching the engine properly and there was trouble starting the vehicle)

    6.The integrated lock system is not good the fuel opening part

    But i love my scooter and still own it despite all problems

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 2

      Reliability

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 2

      Service Experience

    • 3

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  • The worst problem of this bike is that the head light of this bike focuses in the sky even if i use low beam which makes it extremely difficult to ride it at night.

    I was attracted to this bike because of its price, suspension (the so called telescopic suspension as

    The worst problem of this bike is that the head light of this bike focuses in the sky even if i use low beam which makes it extremely difficult to ride it at night.

    I was attracted to this bike because of its price, suspension (the so called telescopic suspension as stated by the company in its features), digital speedometer, and the most important one its horse power(110 cc).

    But only after a few days the bike started showing problems. The fuel indicator failed only within 30 days. I cant express the pain i went through to ride the bike with empty fuel tank to nearest fuel station which was nearly 2 kms away!!! so i showed it to the service station and they fixed the problem but the system failed again in the next few days and the whole system had to be replaced with insurance money!!!! slowly the suspension and mileage also wearied down.

    • 3

      Visual Appeal

    • 1

      Reliability

    • 3

      Comfort

    • 1

      Service Experience

    • 3

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      5000-10000 kms

  •  2One of the worst scooters you could ever buy  1 month ago by Adel Abdel Qadir

    At first i thought this is a good scooter, as they said it has got good mileage... But really doesn't have a good mileage. The scooter's light weight. Vibrates a lot while riding. It has a really good pick-up though. Could climb big slopes easily even with 3 people on

    At first i thought this is a good scooter, as they said it has got good mileage... But really doesn't have a good mileage. The scooter's light weight. Vibrates a lot while riding. It has a really good pick-up though. Could climb big slopes easily even with 3 people on it. Looks wise, it is really bad. Servicing is bad too. They really don't give it the care it needs...

    • 2

      Visual Appeal

    • 1

      Reliability

    • 2

      Comfort

    • 2

      Service Experience

    • 2

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      5000-10000 kms

  •  1A blunder from thunder 1 month ago by Prasanth Kumar P

    Mahindra auoto has its own track record in 4 wheelers. But as far as in 2 wheelers concern this found comes down to a far extend. The only plus point of this scooter is its cute look (1 star). All other things like mileage, performance, services are very low. But

    Mahindra auoto has its own track record in 4 wheelers. But as far as in 2 wheelers concern this found comes down to a far extend. The only plus point of this scooter is its cute look (1 star). All other things like mileage, performance, services are very low. But maintenance very high. We never expect this type product from mahindra....

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 1

      Reliability

    • 2

      Comfort

    • 1

      Service Experience

    • 2

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      < 5000 kms

  •  2Ravi 10 months ago by Ravi

    It was good during 1st year, but after that started giving trouble like, self start, petrol pipe, engine and speedo meter, problem is whenever you take for service parts won't avalable, for that you have to run behind them. It was my worst choice and advice not to

    It was good during 1st year, but after that started giving trouble like, self start, petrol pipe, engine and speedo meter, problem is whenever you take for service parts won't avalable, for that you have to run behind them. It was my worst choice and advice not to consider this vehicle

    pros

    na

    cons

    no parts

    • 3

      Visual Appeal

    • 2

      Comfort

    • 1

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

  •  2My worst decision 1 year ago by Kameshwari J

    Style cool.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox good ,worst & ok.

    Ride quality & handling good.

    Final words the worst decision in my life to purchase this bike, each serivce has cost me 2000 - 3000 rupees, alternatively some major part would conk

    Style cool.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox good ,worst & ok.

    Ride quality & handling good.

    Final words the worst decision in my life to purchase this bike, each serivce has cost me 2000 - 3000 rupees, alternatively some major part would conk off & burden me with the bills , problems on self starting, kick starting too difficult, clutch problems, finally after running the vehicle for 3 years last service i did in the month of february 2015, just after a week the vehicle didnt start & me spending 2750/- on the serivce, the service engineer said that engine has to rebored. Oh come on i could not bear it anymore, when i asked him to exchange for the gusto i was told the best they could offer was 5000 - 8000 , i had bought the vehicle for 54000 i think so, sheer waste of money. The total that i spent on the bike for service would be close to 30000/-

    pros

    stylish , powerful ,smooth

    cons

    self motor problems ,engine problems,low ground clearance,worst mileage , completely undependable

    • 3

      Visual Appeal

    • 3

      Comfort

    • 1

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

  • Mahindra rodeo rz is automatic gaer scooterets with 124.6 Cc, 8.1 Bhp,front telescopic shocker, kick/self start, 6 free services with 2 year warranty & 3 year extended warranty optional , 22 lt storage space, 4 in 1 lock key system with magnetic lock in seven

    Mahindra rodeo rz is automatic gaer scooterets with 124.6 Cc, 8.1 Bhp,front telescopic shocker, kick/self start, 6 free services with 2 year warranty & 3 year extended warranty optional , 22 lt storage space, 4 in 1 lock key system with magnetic lock in seven attractive color which gives you mileage of 55-57 kmpl on city.

    Pros

    smoothness

    cons

    too much attractive

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 4

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

  • Style ok

    engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox very poor engine performance. Starting problem both in sith as well as kick start. No improvement after servicing properly.

    Ride quality & handling- ok

    final words: starting problem has to be

    Style ok

    engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox very poor engine performance. Starting problem both in sith as well as kick start. No improvement after servicing properly.

    Ride quality & handling- ok

    final words: starting problem has to be removed immediately. Batter is very poor.Even after one year change of battery still there is a problem in starting in both the option swith and kick starting. Service centre people having poor knowledge and they are not capable to remove problem

    areas of improvement improvement required in starting as well as fuel efficiency.Very poor mileage.

    Pros

    when it runs on the road it runs very smoothly

    cons

    too much starting problem since beginiing and problem still lying after change of battery , very poo

    • 2

      Visual Appeal

    • 2

      Comfort

    • 1

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

  • Rodeo rz. It's very lite and comfortable, smooth and loaded with many more features. Advanced 125cc z-series engine.Advanced dual curve digital ignition (dc di) system, gives mileage of 59.38 Km/pl.Provides good ground clearance of 154 mm. Better telescopic front

    Rodeo rz. It's very lite and comfortable, smooth and loaded with many more features. Advanced 125cc z-series engine.Advanced dual curve digital ignition (dc di) system, gives mileage of 59.38 Km/pl.Provides good ground clearance of 154 mm. Better telescopic front suspension. Digital dashboard with a speedometer, tachometer, even an odometer. Speed alarm, to warn at the time of excess speed.Fuel gauge alerts you in case you're running low on fuel.Digital dashboard comes with 7 black light colours. Charging point. Fuel tank at front side.Large storage area under seat. Seat light & side stand buffer present. 4-In-1 anti-theft keys help to center lock the entire vehicle. Impact resistant body coloured mirrors.

    Pros

    all

    cons

    no

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 4

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Mahindra Rodeo

2.6 (16 ratings) 10 reviews

Ex-showroom, Mumbai

 45,076
View model details

Rate your bike

Share your experience about this bike

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Please tell us your city

This allows us to provide relevant content for you.

Please enter your city
Confirm city