KTM 390 Duke ABS [2013-2016] user reviews

Overall rating:4 / 510 ratings
4

Neeraj

3 years ago by13,275 views

Style

it's a must buy in case of styling..

Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox

engine over heats a lot, bike fails on hot start, pickup is amazing, superb handling, fuel on street 20-22, highway- 29-30

ride quality & handling

handling is superb and quality is not that good, suspensions, clutches are very hard , seat is very very stiff

final words

must buy, don't think much, buy before the another price hike

areas of improvement

hard seats, tight suspensions, oil tank is just 10.5 Litres, stone hard clutches, noisy , engine heats a lot, hot start problem, coolant problem...

Pros

abs, metzeler tyre, 390 cc engine

cons

stiff seat, orange telescopic body, stiff suspension, good on highways, not good in streets

  • 4

    Visual Appeal

  • 4

    Performance

  • 3

    Comfort

Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

More reviews on 390 Duke ABS [2013-2016]

  •  4Owning a decent bike 2 weeks ago by Serene

    Be ready with a little extra cash for the little knock on the way. Although the bike has never let me stranded on the road, there are always niggles to be sorted out. Be ready for a bike with a character that mostly will not align with your own. Its service network is

    Be ready with a little extra cash for the little knock on the way. Although the bike has never let me stranded on the road, there are always niggles to be sorted out. Be ready for a bike with a character that mostly will not align with your own. Its service network is with popular motors and they are the worst. Maybe it's particular for the area, but, i wish ktm entrusted a better service centre in kochi. I hear it is really decent and much more responsive in trivandrum. But, a big thumbs down for popular and a huge thumbs up for ktm for bringing this bike out. Not the best in build quality, but, everything is forgotten when you twist your wrist. A good buy, any-day.

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 2

      Service Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  •  2Ktm duke 390 not worth it  4 weeks ago by Kuber Bhatia

    I bought ktm duke 390 in august 2016 and since i have bought this bike it was giving me perpetual problem. There were vibrations, engine oil problems and the list goes on. But today i had a close escape. While coming back from office my bike started giving a very

    I bought ktm duke 390 in august 2016 and since i have bought this bike it was giving me perpetual problem. There were vibrations, engine oil problems and the list goes on. But today i had a close escape. While coming back from office my bike started giving a very unusual, loud noise and suddenly i heard a blast. When i checked, the bike's engine (which is made up of high-end aluminium, as they claim) had a huge crack. The bike could have caught fire or the oil could have spilled over me. #Ktm #ktmindia #ktmduke #ktmduke390

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 3

      Reliability

    • 4

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 2

      Service Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      5000-10000 kms

  •  5It s a beast 9 months ago by Vinit Sutar

    Style

    not so great but looks ok altogether.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox

    engine performance is awesome, economy ok and gear box could have been more smoother.

    Ride quality & handling

    ride quality is very good (very aggressive) and handling

    Style

    not so great but looks ok altogether.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox

    engine performance is awesome, economy ok and gear box could have been more smoother.

    Ride quality & handling

    ride quality is very good (very aggressive) and handling is very well balanced.

    Final words

    its worth very penny!!

    areas of improvement

    engine could have been more smoother. And more refined gearbox.

    Pros

    performance,

    cons

    engine could have been more smoother.

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

  •  2Waste 11 months ago by Smk

    Style ok for villagers.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox engine heat, oil leakage, easily getting 'n' while riding, poor gear box, fibre body, small tank, 25 kmpl.

    Ride quality & handling vvery poor comfort seat, suspension, alloy damage, brakes very

    Style ok for villagers.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox engine heat, oil leakage, easily getting 'n' while riding, poor gear box, fibre body, small tank, 25 kmpl.

    Ride quality & handling vvery poor comfort seat, suspension, alloy damage, brakes very poor abs is just for word only. Rear brake very poor, poor service (high cost). Only for 135 kmph riding not for (179 kmph has sure accident in indian roads).

    Final words don't buy this (if u interested go for 2nd hand rs 1.30Lakhs enough to get this)

    areas of improvement don't buy, i waste my money and dreams. Don't consider only money i mistake on this. Buy benelli, cbr, ninja, r3.

    Pros

    price

    cons

    all

    • 2

      Visual Appeal

    • 2

      Performance

    • 1

      Comfort

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

  •  5A true lamborghini 1 year ago by Mahatma Gandhi

    Style its bit of unpleaspure looks same as duke200 bt it's not a deal breaker!

    engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox 44 bhp <<3. Fuel economy is fair live able

    gear box with slipper clutch is damm smooth.

    Ride quality & handling ride quality is

    Style its bit of unpleaspure looks same as duke200 bt it's not a deal breaker!

    engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox 44 bhp <<3. Fuel economy is fair live able

    gear box with slipper clutch is damm smooth.

    Ride quality & handling ride quality is hard! bt not that harsh! easy going handles like my ninja h2.

    Final words just buy it for sure the best fast as hell requires attention bt not that danger it's a fun tool must buy!! i have a hayabusa and also a bmw s1000 and my bro have a ninja h2 they are sports bike bt heavy large etc i love it for daily use!!. As i am a successfull millionaire i love it.

    Areas of improvement seats and suspension nt good for people who don't trust my review! awesome buy! bt rear mud guard looks odd.

    Pros

    all things

    cons

    looks similar as duke 200..Bt it's ok

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

  •  5Duke 390 abs 1 year ago by Arun

    Style aggressive, but not overwhelming, looks in sync with the ktm family.

    It looks brut-ish from the front.

    It looks sharp from the side.

    It looks distant from the back.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox great middle-high end power, lacking low-rev

    Style aggressive, but not overwhelming, looks in sync with the ktm family.

    It looks brut-ish from the front.

    It looks sharp from the side.

    It looks distant from the back.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox great middle-high end power, lacking low-rev power, but then again, you shouldn't expect it to have grunt off the low revs. It wants you to thrash it around and keep it fired up.

    Fuel economy is below average, at around 25-30 kmpl, i shouldn't say below average, because this doesn't compare with average bikes and under the subtext of 'kitna deta hai?'

    the gearbox has a very tall sixth gear, you could max it out at around 175kmph. You could also stay in third gear throughout the day when you forget it goes fast.

    Ride quality & handling the rear wheel plays more than it should when hitting bumpy roads while leaning during a curve.

    It feels quite unbalanced at gridlock speeds, the reason being the tires are highly curved, the kind you find on proper race bikes and not on tvs apache 'racers'. Those tires (metzeler sportec) are very, very grippy, you see the difference from the duke 200's mrf tires. The metzelers do cost around rs.16000 For the set though.

    Final words you would be daft, very daft to buy any competitors bike, the yamaha r3 or the kawasaki ninja 300. They both cost much more than the duke 390 and do not make anywhere near as much power neither do they have better equipment. The pulsar 400 to be released might pose a threat, but we'll see how that goes, as of now the duke 390 and the rc 390 are, deservedly, the best you can buy.

    Areas of improvement more competent service, though adequate, i feel sure that any major repairs needed wouldn't be an easy process.

    Pros

    power, power, price

    cons

    nothing in particular

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

  •  5Value for money 3 years ago by Varghese Paul

    Style

    it's the best in terms of style. That feel when you ride it is awesome.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox

    engine is a classy thing from ktm, i got a fuel economy of 35.

    Ride quality & handling

    handling is superb and seats are bit hard. Ride

    Style

    it's the best in terms of style. That feel when you ride it is awesome.

    Engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox

    engine is a classy thing from ktm, i got a fuel economy of 35.

    Ride quality & handling

    handling is superb and seats are bit hard. Ride quality is like never before for me.

    Final words

    the best..!!

    Areas of improvement

    nothing..

    Pros

    style, abs, 390cc engine

    cons

    nothing :)

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Discontinued

Last known Ex-showroom price

 2,02,127
View model details

Rate your bike

Share your experience about this bike

Expert Reviews on 390 Duke ABS [2013-2016]

Read all expert reviews

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Please tell us your city

This allows us to provide relevant content for you.

Please enter your city
Confirm city