Bajaj Pulsar NS200 user reviews

Overall rating:4.5 / 5157 ratings
3

Mahesh

3 years ago by5,185 views

Style

good

engine performance, fuel economy and gearbox

engine performance is good but problem with clutch and gear box. False neutral problem exixts

ride quality & handling

good at speeds above 60kmph critical below 50 kmph

final words

good machine but poor service back up and road stability at high speeds.

Areas of improvement

clutch and body fiering has to be concentrated otherwise the bike will be a failure one. As i am a regular user of pulsar the regular problems of this model exists in this model also like false neutral and clutch jerks. Road stability is a big question at speed more than 80kmph. Fuel efficiency is better compared to same segment of other brands.

Pros

smart pick up, style and seating comfort.

Cons

problem with clutch, very poor service back up, road stability on high speeds, body vibration. False

  • 3

    Visual Appeal

  • 3

    Comfort

  • 3

    Value for Money

Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

More reviews on Pulsar NS200

  •  5The best vfm commuter bike available in india 23 hours ago by Mohit Agarwal

    It was a careful consideration to go for this motorcycle especially after having tested the yamaha r15, honda cbr250r and honda karizma. The thing different with ns was its stance and the throttle response.

    It has been 5 years and more than 1,00,000 kms on this bike and

    It was a careful consideration to go for this motorcycle especially after having tested the yamaha r15, honda cbr250r and honda karizma. The thing different with ns was its stance and the throttle response.

    It has been 5 years and more than 1,00,000 kms on this bike and there has not been any problem till date. The stance is upright which is very comfortable be it for local commute or long rides.

    Engine is a 200cc, liquid cooled unit with short stroke configuration which makes it a rev happy machine. You can almost relay the revs in each gear and the bike simply pulls away with ease doing a top sped of 155 kmph.

    Maintenance too is light on the pocket as neither the parts nor the service cost is too much. The biggest problem is when you decide to upgrade because after riding this machine you would have to go for something like an r3 or ninja 300 and only then it would be considered an upgrade.

    For less than 1,00,000 rs. This is the best machine you can buy which is decently powered, liquid cooled and has short stroke. Looking forward to lot more kms on it.

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    • 5

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  •  4Mean machine 3 days ago by Ankit Bakshi

    I own a 2012 pulsar 200ns

    Looks: one of the best looking naked bikes out there nothing else comes closer

    Performance: mind blowing performance for a 200cc, 100kmh is a piece of cake for this bike

    Reliability: has been quite reliable journey of almost 5 yrs never had an

    I own a 2012 pulsar 200ns

    Looks: one of the best looking naked bikes out there nothing else comes closer

    Performance: mind blowing performance for a 200cc, 100kmh is a piece of cake for this bike

    Reliability: has been quite reliable journey of almost 5 yrs never had an issue

    Maintenance: always been on a cheaper side

    Pros: handling, performance

    Cons: parts not easily available in my city

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    • 5

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  •  5200 awesome 3 days ago by Lokesh Kumar R A

    Pulsar is always a very good one in style, performance, riding ,etc,.

    Pulsar 200ns it's a very superb bike.

    The pickup is awesome.

    Riding quality is nice for all person thought.Even he may be tall or short,

    It surely gives a good racing feel.

    There is only one word is

    Pulsar is always a very good one in style, performance, riding ,etc,.

    Pulsar 200ns it's a very superb bike.

    The pickup is awesome.

    Riding quality is nice for all person thought.Even he may be tall or short,

    It surely gives a good racing feel.

    There is only one word is there to express about 200ns... It is awesome.

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 5

      Service Experience

    • 5

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      Never owned

  •  4Bajaj pulsar 200ns experience 4 days ago by Shankar Varma

    The bajaj pulsar 200ns, was how the motorcycle was known when my brother first bought it in august 2012. It was a welcome addition to the pulsar family which changed the mindset of many Indians about bajaj auto pvt ltd. The engine of the 200ns is derived from the ktm

    The bajaj pulsar 200ns, was how the motorcycle was known when my brother first bought it in august 2012. It was a welcome addition to the pulsar family which changed the mindset of many Indians about bajaj auto pvt ltd. The engine of the 200ns is derived from the ktm duke 200, tuned so as to satisfy the needs of a daily commuter.

    This review is going to be divided into two parts.

    Part 1:

    My brother's experience (august 2012 - august 2014 / 0-16000 kms):

    He was in the search of a motorcycle when he was studying in college and he finalised on the pulsar 200ns(cherry black), which was the latest motorcycle on the market at that time. Buying the motorcycle went smooth and was hassle free. The on road price in Chennai at that time was approximately inr 1,00,000.

    He followed the soft-break in method to set-in the engine and did the servicing as per the manual and didn't experiment new things with the motorcycle. Thus for the first 16000 kms the motorcycle was bone stock and didn't give and problems at all. One problem he faced was the coolant leaking, which was fixed when he took it to the service centre.

    Part 2:

    My experience (august 2014 - present(July 2017) / 16000-40040 kms)

    I got my hands on the motorcycle when i joined college and my brother left abroad for pursuing higher studies. Me being hyped getting a motorcycle was "squiding" for my first few kilometres on the motorcycle. That was until i met with an accident just one month after getting my hands on the pulsar 200ns. The fault was on my side and was not on the motorcycle. After this event, i started riding with proper gear(at least a helmet at all times) and started to respect and bond with my motorcycle. This was the time i learned to actually ride a motorcycle properly. I replaced the motorcycle's chain sprocket at 20,000 kms and started to experiment new things. So far i've used the motul 5100, 7100 and 300v engine oils in my motorcycle and i would recommend motul 7100 20w50 over the other two. I used motul 7100(fully synthetic) as an upgrade from the stock bajaj mineral oil. The motorcycle felt real good after this change and i felt like the exhaust note of my 200ns also changed a bit. After that i tested out motul 5100(semi-synthetic) and it was disappointing. So i moved to the higher end motul 300v(fully synthetic) which i'm using currently. I feel like motul 300v for daily commutes is a overkill. So that's the reason i recommend the pocket friendly motul 7100. The drain interval for motul 7100 would be anywhere around 7500- 8000 kms. Apart from changing the engine oil, i also changed the brake and clutch levers to moxi shorty adjustable levers. The stock levers were fine, but they broke when my 200ns had a fall when it was parked in a school zone. The tyres i'm using currently on my 200ns are mrf zapper fx1(front) and ceat zoom xl(rear), soon planning to change to continental contigo in the rear. I'm also planning to revert back to motul 7100 and change to rs200 sprocket set, since it's time to change the sprockets on my motorcycle.

    I've tested my 200ns and found the following:

    1. Mileage :

    (a) riding calmly(below 6k rpm) - 38 kmpl

    (b) riding with little aggression(6k-8k range) - 34 kmpl

    (c) pushing the limits(shifting at 9k or 10k rpm) - 29 kmpl

    (note: once you get into motorcycling, you won't care about mileage)

    2. I did not face and over heating issues with the motorcycle. The cooling system does it's job.

    3. My pr on the motorcycle is 159 kmph. First gear tops at 54 kmph.

    Pros:

    1. Has enough power in the city.

    2. Looks fresh even now.

    3. Value for money.

    4. Braking and cornering abilities are good.

    5. Torque delivery is linear, which is good for beginners.

    6. Good mileage.

    Cons/areas of improvement:

    1. The seating posture is upright, but the seat gets uncomfortable after riding for 40 kms and also knees feel cramped(i'm 6' tall).

    2. Touring in the 200ns is something i'm not a fan of. You can cruise at speeds of 90 kmph, but the engine starts to stress a bit over speeds of 105 kmph.

    3. The crash protectors/leg guards protect the motorcycle during accidents, but they break and the screw gets stuck inside the thread which makes it difficult to fit a new crash protector.

    4. Stock eurogrip tyres were pretty bad. The mrf zappers are far better.

    5. Vibrations post 6k rpm, though they don't bother me that much.

    Verdict:

    If you are on the search of a motorcycle in the price range of 1 lakh rupees, you can't go wrong with the bajaj pulsar 200ns. Choose the one with mrf zapper tyres because there are motorcycles which are being delivered with eurogrips also.

    P.S: the problem with these 200cc motorcycles is that after sometime, they start to feel under-powered(at least for the highways). So if you have the money, i would suggest you to go with a higher capacity motorcycle(say 300+cc motorcycles).

    Ride safe! and remember... "ride only as fast as you have it under control". You only got one life. Take good care of it.

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 3

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    • 4

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  •  4Amazing bike 4 days ago by Sachin Agre

    I have owned this bike for more than 6 months. It was an extraordinary experience to ride this bike. Having 5 speed was amazing riding this bike on highway. As it was my first bike, i love my bike. The pick up was outstanding and it is ok to ride in traffic jammed city

    I have owned this bike for more than 6 months. It was an extraordinary experience to ride this bike. Having 5 speed was amazing riding this bike on highway. As it was my first bike, i love my bike. The pick up was outstanding and it is ok to ride in traffic jammed city roads too. I will always recommend this bike to everyone.

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      6 months-1 yr

    • Ridden for

      5000-10000 kms

  •  4Riding the mini beast pulsar 200 ns  6 days ago by Santhosh

    1) its was my first bike , i was excited about it and am happy with it.

    2) seating position is good . It's good for city and touring as well .

    3) the looks of bike is stunning and mid- range and high end performance are really good.

    4) parts are easily available and

    1) its was my first bike , i was excited about it and am happy with it.

    2) seating position is good . It's good for city and touring as well .

    3) the looks of bike is stunning and mid- range and high end performance are really good.

    4) parts are easily available and cheap too.

    5) the bike doesn't have efi engine and abs . Others than this overall it's good. It is best bike for beginner

    Many go for ktm as it performance bike . Ktm is for experienced rider . If any parent is reading this , as a first bike don't go for ktm .

    thank you

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    • 4

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      5000-10000 kms

  • I know many people wouldn't be satisfying with my experience and disagree with it. But its genuine and based on personal experience after riding 18000 km with pulsar

    200 ns.

    Buying experience

    My buying experience is never too satisfying as on the second day i noticed

    I know many people wouldn't be satisfying with my experience and disagree with it. But its genuine and based on personal experience after riding 18000 km with pulsar

    200 ns.

    Buying experience

    My buying experience is never too satisfying as on the second day i noticed coolant leak below the head seal of the engine. It took new engine to be open and rearranged. Initially i was very disappointed by this product from bajaj. Although engine is also a machine and machine can be breakdown anytime be it on second day. But when i took my bike to long runs it respond amazingly and believe me i have never faced any problem ever.

    Riding experience

    My riding experience is very satisfying as i am from chandigarh and i hate to visit delhi-ncr 2-3 times in a month due to my personal reasons. It barely take 3 hours with my bike to reached gurgaon. Believe me i haven't felt any restless or backpain or other problem which most bikers are facing during long runs. Sometime i have to came back without any stop as i have to reach early.

    Details about looks, performance etc.

    The overall look of a bike is very aggressive and it provoke you with 23+ bhp to pull the trigger and go hard. Performance is massive in compare to other 200 cc bikes. I also have duke 200 but it feels very light weight in comparison to ns which automatically proves that ns is more reliable for lean and smooth run on overtakes. Engine is refine and exhaust sound is amazing after 130kmph speed. Nissin brakes and mrf pre-loaded tires gives you smooth running confidence with healthy stoppable power. I also use ns for stunting and its totally responsive as a stuntbike too.

    Servicing and maintenance

    Service and maintenance of ns 200 is not as easy as it looks. Initially i struggled a lot for getting spare parts after small accidents or stunt impacts. But nowadays its easier to maintain this bike. With specifications like this, maintenance cost of this bike is under everyone's budget who could afford ns200.

    Pros and cons

    Pros

    *best bike in the segment.

    *affordable maintenance.

    *affordable 200cc new generation bike.

    *best ever indian stunt bike.

    *appealing looks.

    Cons

    *normally felt heavy for normal people

    *color schemes for the bike.

    *not comfortable for every age group.

    *abs not available.

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 3

      Reliability

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    • 4

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      10000-15000 kms

  •  5Sexy bomb 1 week ago by Pavithran R

    Superb riding position.Good for long rides

    Services are at low cost and good services

    Handle bars and alloy wheels are weak. Small crash made my handle clip and front wheel alloy pieces.

    Superb riding position.Good for long rides

    Services are at low cost and good services

    Handle bars and alloy wheels are weak. Small crash made my handle clip and front wheel alloy pieces.

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    • 4

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      5000-10000 kms

  •  4Breathtaking  1 week ago by Mrunal Dethekar

    It is best bike under 100k, i am using this bike from 2015. Still i didn't get any problem in bike. Sound get loud after 6 7 month but not too much...

    Riding experience is superb!! it is heavy and muscular bike, what i like.

    Acceleration is also good. I ride this bike

    It is best bike under 100k, i am using this bike from 2015. Still i didn't get any problem in bike. Sound get loud after 6 7 month but not too much...

    Riding experience is superb!! it is heavy and muscular bike, what i like.

    Acceleration is also good. I ride this bike upto 127 kmph. But it didn't get any vibration.

    Average is about 35-40 kmph. Maintenance is less and service is good.

    If one want a muscular sport bike for high speed, buy it. Because it is excellent for riding experience but mileage of this bike is not so good.

    Cons for this bike is its mileage, it is give very less mileage while riding at high speed.

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 3

      Reliability

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 3

      Service Experience

    • 5

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  •  4Greats looks  1 week ago by Cherag Bodhanwala

    Worth the value ! good riding experience ! much stable and good at corners ! good for leisure rides, daily commutes and random rides ! good seating position and height of the seat ! grabs much attention ! in love with its headlight forever and the body shape just so

    Worth the value ! good riding experience ! much stable and good at corners ! good for leisure rides, daily commutes and random rides ! good seating position and height of the seat ! grabs much attention ! in love with its headlight forever and the body shape just so good ! comfortable seats too ! first love !

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    • 5

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Leisure Rides

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Bajaj Pulsar NS200

4.5 (155 ratings) 75 reviews

Ex-showroom, Mumbai

 95,642
View model details

Rate your bike

Share your experience about this bike

Expert Reviews on Pulsar NS200

2017 Bajaj Pulsar NS200 Launch Ride Review
2017 Bajaj Pulsar NS200 Launch Ride Review
13 February 2017
Ranjan R. Bhat

Bajaj rsquo s second coming in the modern 200cc streetfighter segment When it was first launched in 2012 the Bajaj Pulsar 200NS no that isn rsquo t a typo offered striking looks hair raising performance and impressive handling at a sweet price point Now the Pulsar 200NS has...

Read all expert reviews

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Please tell us your city

This allows us to provide relevant content for you.

Please enter your city
Confirm city