Royal Enfield Thunderbird 500 user reviews

Overall rating:4.1 / 513 ratings
4

A decent cruiser

3 years ago by Rajeev11,317 views

Style

The styling is pretty good. Has a distinct road presence. Projector light and led tail light enhances the over all look.

Engine Performance, Fuel Economy and Gearbox

Performance of the engine is pretty good. It has good low down torque and an all day cruising speed of 80-100kmph. Considering the bigger 500cc engine, it still gives a decent fuel economy of 31kmpl on highway and 26kmpl in city driving condition which i feel is pretty good. Being fuel injected i never faced starting problem in my last 10,000km drive. Gearbox seems to be a bit knotchy. Flase neutral is more frequent from 2nd to 3rd. Although the bike can reach a speed of 130+, it seems to be more comfortable at 80-90kmph. At that speed the vehicle just glides like butter in a hot pan.

Ride Quality & Handling

Ride quality is good but there is still space for impovement. The rider seat is bigger and somewhat comfortable for long drives as compared to the rear seat which is very small with less cusion. As far as handling is concerned it will surprise you with its outstanding cornering speed. The only problem i see is the noise the front fork makes while going through every road bumbs.

Final Words

Over all Royal enfield has improved the quality of the bike and Thunderbird is very different from the other models...Its comfortable, comes with front and rear disk brake, comfortable foot peg angles, digital guages, bigger tank, efi engine. In my 10,000km ride, i havent faced broken clutch cable, or throttle cable or problems related to cold starting.. so in a way Royal Enfield has come a long way.

Areas of improvement

"QUALITY" --- This is what royal enfield has to improve. The paint quality, nuts n bolts, rubber pipes, tubes, rubber mountings are still of inferior quality and needs constant attention. The digital guage looks good but is inaccurate and has a history of malfucntion. The engine still leaks oil from rocker head. Partial Chain cover would have been a better addition. The manual mentions a maintenance free battery ( 12v 14ah MF) but the bike came with an ordinary battery (Even dealers has no explanation). Hope Royal enfield looks into it and make the necessary corrections. Service quality also needs to be improved.

Pros

Style, Digital dial, Huge petrol tank, Torque, Decent average

Cons

Paint finish keeps peeling, Dial guage malfunction, Inferior quality of rubber parts

  • 4

    Visual Appeal/Looks

  • 4

    Performance

  • 4

    Comfort

Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

More reviews on Thunderbird 500

  •  3Good bike bad quality  1 week ago by Deepak Soni

    Good bike with bad quality spare parts, could have been much better if royal group would have done more research and better quality , issue of oil seal and vibration is very common , so think before buying it , just the brand name not enough ,the speedometer is too

    Good bike with bad quality spare parts, could have been much better if royal group would have done more research and better quality , issue of oil seal and vibration is very common , so think before buying it , just the brand name not enough ,the speedometer is too fragile and the worst part is u don't get a sound making machine, too silent on where the noise would make a difference . Cheers

    • 5

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 2

      Reliability

    • 4

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 3

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      < 5000 kms

  •  5Simply Amazing 11 months ago by Kevin Dcosta

    Style It definitely grabs attention on the road.

    Engine Performance, Fuel Economy and Gearbox Great engine performance. Decent Fuel Economy but who cares & Gearbox is smooth provided you are the only rider of the bike.

    Ride Quality & Handling Can ride it for

    Style It definitely grabs attention on the road.

    Engine Performance, Fuel Economy and Gearbox Great engine performance. Decent Fuel Economy but who cares & Gearbox is smooth provided you are the only rider of the bike.

    Ride Quality & Handling Can ride it for hours without any back pain. It is a very stable bike & it is amazing for the Shitty indian roads.

    Final Words Overall an amazing Vehicle.

    Areas of improvement The back seat could have been bigger as even a slim girl cant sit side ways.

    Pros

    Stability, comfortable riding position, amazing power

    Cons

    Only the smal back seat

    • 5

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

  •  5Great cruiser for the price 2 years ago by Shohrat Shankar

    After a lot of thought and deliberation I finally went ahead and bought the TB 500 Marine.

    The reasons why I finally chose this were the following:

    · I wanted a powerful bike

    · A cruiser for long distance comfortable rides

    ·

    After a lot of thought and deliberation I finally went ahead and bought the TB 500 Marine.

    The reasons why I finally chose this were the following:

    · I wanted a powerful bike

    · A cruiser for long distance comfortable rides

    · A city bike to use instead of my Cars, whenever possible

    · Something that can be fixed by most mechanics around the country

    Keeping the points above in mind, the TB 500 was most suited. Off course to RE purists this is blasphemous; however, I wanted to enjoy an RE with the reliability and comfort of something newer.

    I have just completed 700kms and returned from a ride from Pune to Ahmednagar and back.

    I had completed 330 kms in the city before I ventured on my own to Ahmednagar for the weekend with family. The trip to Nagar was a little frustrating as every vehicle was overtaking me due to the 55km/h limit. I was dying to see what my baby could really do; however, restrained myself. The 120km journey took me close to 3 hrs.

    The frustration aside, I found the ride comfortable and stress free. Little issue with rough gears and sometimes finding neutral aside, I found the bike great.

    The day after arrival I took the bike for servicing at 480 kms. When leaving the centre I could feel the bike was a different animal, it was now raring to go and show what it could do. The gears were now smooth and slipped from one to the other with little to no effort at all.

    A day or 2 in Nagar and I had chocked up another 100 odd kms.

    Now it was time to ride back to Pune. This time I was going to ride the beast and put her to the test.

    This time the entire 120 kms took me less than 2hrs. The bike handled great on high speeds though I still didn’t stress her out beyond 100-110km/h.

    Style: I like the paint and overall look of the bike. The Marine blue gives the bike a Royal look and feel. The chrome with the blue is a nice touch. Most importantly the black engine area adds a nice feel to the bike keeping it bright, yet not too flashy with a lot of chrome. The instrument panel is pretty good; however, the Fuel gauge is not very consistent. Could have come with Alloy wheels like most other bikes today.

    Performance: The bike is peppy and has a good pick up. Comfortably able to cross almost all vehicles on the road. As I have kept the default silencer, the bike is pretty quiet and doesn’t have the usual RE “thump”. Personally I don’t see the need to create additional noise if it is not going to improve performance in any way. I filled the Tank before leaving Pune and after almost 400 kms I need to refill the tank. Not bad for the first service and the fact that mileage will improve.

    Comfort: I found the TB to be a very comfortable ride. Sitting on it for 2-3hrs wasn’t tough at all, however, I found the seat a little hard and towards the latter bits. Will try and see if one can get soft seat cushioning. The handle is well placed so my back and shoulders felt no stress despite the long ride.

    The height and balance of the bike is good and for a short person like me (5Ft 7”) there is no challenge.

    Handling: I had always wondered if I would be comfortable handling such a heavy bike and how easy it will be to manoeuvre through traffic. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the bike has great brakes (Front and rear Discs) so you can come to a halt pretty soon, even if riding fast. It is agile and easy to weave through traffic. I felt I was riding a much lighter bike at times. The turning radius could have been better though, considering it is a heavy bike and is challenging when parking in tight spaces. Despite what I’ve heard from other sites, the bike has no vibration at even 110km/h. I didn’t go faster as there was a very strong wind blowing.

    Engine: The engine sounds like a purring kitten when cruising and roars into life when you suddenly accelerate. The power is good and so far the engine feels absolutely fantastic

    Gear box: The gears are smooth, click into place without a worry. Slight issue before the first service; however, after the service it is great.

    Only challenge is that sometimes finding neutral takes a try or two. Also, from neutral to 2nd finds a half gear in between. Not much trouble though.

    Over all had a great time on the bike so far. Have felt safe and comfortable at high speeds too. Looking forward to a lot more rides: alone and with groups.

    Pros

    Power, Looks, Handling, Braking, Headlight,

    Cons

    Seat cushion, Horn, Turning radius, Spoke wheels

    • 4

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 5

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

  •  5Superb 2 years ago by Santosh

    Style I bought this bike in jan 2014, when I saw it first time, Ibecame the fan of this and TBH I love it's style and same applies on all boys almost

    Engine Performance, Fuel Economy and Gearbox After riding 20 KM with the speed 60 you will feel the vehicle has become

    Style I bought this bike in jan 2014, when I saw it first time, Ibecame the fan of this and TBH I love it's style and same applies on all boys almost

    Engine Performance, Fuel Economy and Gearbox After riding 20 KM with the speed 60 you will feel the vehicle has become absolutely smooth and light.

    Ride Quality & Handling Perfect, I did not see any issue with this bike riding, I take really long trips on this bike.

    Final Words This is the mid range Cruiser with superb style and huge engine power.

    Areas of improvement Split to 2 Cylinders than puttiing all the mass in one cylynder.

    Pros

    Style, handling, performance, weight

    Cons

    Consumption,

    • 5

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

  •  4Thunderbird 500 3 years ago by sai

    Style :It is good to see.i love it

    Engine Performance, Fuel Economy and Gearbox

    the performance is good and the fuel economy is better to ride for long trip and the five speed manaul gearbox with wetmultiplate clutch is verry good

    Ride Quality & Handling

    Style :It is good to see.i love it

    Engine Performance, Fuel Economy and Gearbox

    the performance is good and the fuel economy is better to ride for long trip and the five speed manaul gearbox with wetmultiplate clutch is verry good

    Ride Quality & Handling

    with overall the ride quality and handling is good .And the comfort is good with pillion seat

    Final Words

    i love the thunderbird with low cost of price for 500cc engine compare to others and it is very good

    Areas of improvement

    the projection light and the hazard signal for the first time in indian roads and the comfort of seating and good style.The disc brakes is very good to see in the royal enfield with front and back and with the new colors

    Pros

    power,style ,comfort light

    Cons

    consumption ,

    • 5

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 4

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

  •  5Excellent 3 years ago by Santosh

    Style

    Engine Performance, Fuel Economy and Gearbox: Excellent Pick up

    Ride Quality & Handling

    Absolutely fantastic, you will get the road clear when you ride this bike

    Final Words

    I love this bike and I suggest everyone to go for it. If you love the

    Style

    Engine Performance, Fuel Economy and Gearbox: Excellent Pick up

    Ride Quality & Handling

    Absolutely fantastic, you will get the road clear when you ride this bike

    Final Words

    I love this bike and I suggest everyone to go for it. If you love the power and the manly.

    I drove this bike from Delhi to Laddakh and has absolute power and performance. Especially I love it's fuel tank. the disk brake in rear adds very much fun. I have also driven this bike from Delhi to Agra Expressway and with ease. You can drive this with the speed of 120 and will not get your legs vibrating which normally happens with Pulsar and others.

    Areas of improvement

    Pros

    Cruzer Design

    Cons

    mileage

    • 5

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

  •  4RE Thunder Bird 500 3 years ago by Adrian

    Style

    It has a modern edge to its vintage design. The headlights are really cool with the console being an enticing aspect of the bike.

    Engine Performance, Fuel Economy and Gearbox

    This bikes massive engine's power is well harnessed as it propels you forward in a

    Style

    It has a modern edge to its vintage design. The headlights are really cool with the console being an enticing aspect of the bike.

    Engine Performance, Fuel Economy and Gearbox

    This bikes massive engine's power is well harnessed as it propels you forward in a way that will leave you hanging on to the throttle bars. Such power does not render good fuel economy though its fair to say it gives you a fair mileage. I felt that this gear box is easier to operate compared to the 350cc thunderbird.

    Ride Quality & Handling

    Excellent cruiser capability on the road with an appealing comfort although the bike vibrates blatantly at high revs.

    Final Words

    BUY IT if you have got the budget for the bike and for regular fuel stops and then get ready to leave every other vehicle behind you as you surprisingly zoom by with this cruiser.

    Areas of improvement

    The vintage desgin should recieve a break.

    Pros

    Power, Pull, comfort, console

    Cons

    Mileage,

    • 4

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 5

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Report

Rate your bike

Share your experience about this bike

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Report

Please tell us your city

This allows us to provide relevant content for you.

Please enter your city
Confirm city