Royal Enfield Thunderbird 350 user reviews

Overall rating:4 / 541 ratings
3

Sucks

3 years ago by Shrinidhi Rao42,879 views

IF YOU ARE SERIOUS ABOUT GOING FOR WEEKEND RIDES . DO NOT BUY ANY ROYAL ENFILEDs

Royal enfield sucks big time.

"leave home" - but with a fear that it might stop anywhere .

Dont get me wrong , but royal enfields are the most unreliable bikes on indian roads.. Just because they have 350cc and 500cc engine doenst mean they are good .

I have a royal enfield thunderbird 2010 at home and i always get scared to go for long rides .

Its almost 3 years old now and run 45000+ km.

Speedometer cable keeps breaking , Throttle cable keeps breaking very often 500-1000km , Clutch cable keeps breaking every 100 -200 km ,Oil leaks ,

Tappet sounds ,

Once my self start got jammed while riding from mangalore-bangalore . and it jammed the kicker too . i had to hire a tempo to get it across . i dont know if the designer was stoned or had a fight with his wife before he designed the system !!! .

Cant handle rains . the bike doesnt start once its drenched .

i can go on with the problems ..

Add all this and the amount of time you spend with a half knowledged "royal enfiled" mechanics . Well. Lets just say that this bike is just BULL-shit! .

This bike is just not practical .

May be a good timepass , trying to fix it half of the year to go for a 100km ride, while you are getting retired and have a huge amount of money in your bank account to drain it on crappy parts for this bull-shit! .

Trust me .. i had better experince with my old yamaha rx-100 and old hero honda cbz .

Pros

only 350 cc engine which u get for this price

Cons

most unreliable bike in india.

  • 4

    Visual Appeal/Looks

  • 2

    Performance

  • 3

    Comfort

Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

More reviews on Thunderbird 350

  •  1Dont buy RE TBTS  2 days ago by vjgeorge87

    The overall quality "sucks"

    a) Instrument cluster does not work properly (replace 4 times during warranty) even then its not working so living with it

    b) Fuel gauge is not working accurately, right now i have replaced it with Pulsar 220f's fuel gauge which is apparently

    The overall quality "sucks"

    a) Instrument cluster does not work properly (replace 4 times during warranty) even then its not working so living with it

    b) Fuel gauge is not working accurately, right now i have replaced it with Pulsar 220f's fuel gauge which is apparently working just fine

    c) Oil leaks on either side of the engine

    d) Gear shifts are hard

    c) The idle is very low sometimes when it is going to off state, the gears make a rattling noise which is heard at least 300m.

    d) Service is pathetic so i rely on local mechanic which he does a decent job

    • 3

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 2

      Reliability

    • 2

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 2

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  •  1GM 3 days ago by Graceson

    1. Buying experience

    it took about one month to get this bike after booking and it cost me 1.75 lack (on road ) . I would say the buying experience was average

    2 .riding experience

    It vibrates a lot when cruising through the highways at speeds between 60 to 80

    1. Buying experience

    it took about one month to get this bike after booking and it cost me 1.75 lack (on road ) . I would say the buying experience was average

    2 .riding experience

    It vibrates a lot when cruising through the highways at speeds between 60 to 80 kmph ,the back view mirrors are useless . The headlight focus a bit downward and you can't adjust its orientation. The bike had many issues such as oil leakage ,noise etc

    3 looks and performance

    The one star i gave is just for looks . The performance is not that satisfying and also its mileage is between 27(highways) 36 (city ) i don't know that the hell is wrong with my bike its mileage drops significantly when cruising around 60kmph i took it to the service center but they told they don't know what's wrong with the bike.

    4. Service and maintenance

    Its expensive to maintain the bike when compared to other bikes . Most of the issues such as vibration of mirrors, noise etc can't be removed. The parts are also expensive but u can find cheaper aftermarket parts .

    5 pros and cons

    It look good and its comfortable to ride other than that i can't find anything good . I don't know why are they still using carburetor instead of fuel injection. I will not recommended anyone to buy this bike .

    • 4

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 1

      Reliability

    • 3

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 2

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      6 months-1 yr

    • Ridden for

      5000-10000 kms

  •  4The comfortable bike 2 weeks ago by Akash kumar

    When you buy a Thunderbird.... Don't just buy it for the looks or the pride. Buy it for the comfort and pleasure it gives you when you ride it. It's a heavy bike thus steady. Its ride is comfortable thus when you go for long rides it gives lesser strain on your back. A

    When you buy a Thunderbird.... Don't just buy it for the looks or the pride. Buy it for the comfort and pleasure it gives you when you ride it. It's a heavy bike thus steady. Its ride is comfortable thus when you go for long rides it gives lesser strain on your back. A good engine gives lesser troubles on the road. But regular maintenance of vehicle is necessary. If you don't take care of the bike then it starts to give you trouble. It is not meant for racing thus no so good at high speeds. But does excellent when driving at moderate speeds. It is the most comfortable, stylish and dependable bike from royal Enfield.

    • 4

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 4

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 3

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  •  3If you re ready to live with the cons  2 weeks ago by Ameya More

    Cons -

    Low end torque is low (max generated way towards redline)

    Brakes lack feel

    Brakes aren't powerful enough (tend to lock up)

    It vibrates at around 3k RPM (yes it does)

    Not rev happy engine, Could be more refined

    Doesn't like to speed

    Sluggish in corners ( not

    Cons -

    Low end torque is low (max generated way towards redline)

    Brakes lack feel

    Brakes aren't powerful enough (tend to lock up)

    It vibrates at around 3k RPM (yes it does)

    Not rev happy engine, Could be more refined

    Doesn't like to speed

    Sluggish in corners ( not confidence inspiring)

    No electronic aids (ABS would be appreciated)

    Fuel gauge isn't reliable (switches aren't reliable either)

    Suspension could be set up better.

    Not a head turner anymore :(

    Pros -

    It's a RE

    You get the heritage participation

    Looks great (at least me)

    Better design then previous generation

    Sharper handling (compared to Classic or Bullet)

    Better weight distribution (compared to Classic or Bullet)

    Premium (compared to Classic or Bullet)

    • 3

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 2

      Reliability

    • 2

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 2

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  •  5The Royal beast 2 weeks ago by Snehasish Choudhury

    The experience of riding this bike has been awesome. Great balance and good braking system. The bike wont move a little even if you apply brakes at 50-60 kms/hr. Super acceleration as well. Good ground clearance and great value for money. Mileage stands at 35-40 kms

    The experience of riding this bike has been awesome. Great balance and good braking system. The bike wont move a little even if you apply brakes at 50-60 kms/hr. Super acceleration as well. Good ground clearance and great value for money. Mileage stands at 35-40 kms per litre. Low maintenance, just make sure you service it on time and take good care of it (avoid riding it to a pothole or something). Looks great and its no doubt the Indian harley.

    I make sure i take her for a wash every 15 days or so and regularly swipe it with a clean cloth.

    Pros-

    Braking system

    Mileage

    Looks

    Acceleration

    Fat tyres with great grip

    High comfort level (i hardly got any back pains even after a long and rusty ride)

    Cons-

    none so far

    I have taken it for long rides and also use it for daily commute and its been a great experience till now.

    Love for Royal Enfield- Peace \m/

    • 5

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 5

      Performance

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 5

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      5000-10000 kms

  • The buying experience was a bliss.as it's no surprise that at this price range,an Indian consumer has a default mindset...To go for a royal Enfield.same was the case with me.but me being a bike enthusiast was always and still am sceptical about the brand solely because

    The buying experience was a bliss.as it's no surprise that at this price range,an Indian consumer has a default mindset...To go for a royal Enfield.same was the case with me.but me being a bike enthusiast was always and still am sceptical about the brand solely because of the fact that they do not want to add features to the bike.i agree...people buy a royal Enfield for the cult following it has and the sheer road presence,still....Adding a little more value would make the bike even a better value proposition.

    Coming to the bike itself...I chose the Thunderbird because the classic was too much of a cliché...Add to the fact that for a little premium over the classic 350...The end user will get a rear disc, projector headlamp,bigger tank and a fuel gauge(which is useless to be true...Never gives the exact reading).The Thunderbird is also preferable for people of a relatively low height because the saddle height is relatively lower when compared to other royal Enfield without compensating much on the ground clearance.

    The service experience till now has been average to be precise but it was anything but bad.the people at the showroom and the service center are very cooperative and work like professionals.

    Pros-

    1.torque...lots of it....-Now because the bike has a larger bore,there is ample amount of torque available on the bike.this helps a lot because it does not require frequent gear changes.a lot of people might disagree with me on this but that's what I have experienced as of yet

    2.looks -....The bike looks like a proper cruiser and grabs eyeballs wherever I go...IT HAS MORE CHROME THAN GOOGLE :P.....It's been almost 3 years now that I've owned this bike.But the bike still has got its charm and road presence

    3.suits every rider despite height variation- now this is a very big advantage of owning a Thunderbird.because of the low saddle height and the adjustable handlebars....The bike can accommodate rider of varying heights.It also makes the bike a proper cruiser and is helpful in long rides

    Cons-

    1.Royal Enfield skimping on features-adding little features especially ABS is a must nowadays.for a bike which costs over a lakh and weighs close to 200 kgs ....A proper dual channel abs system must be provided.royal Enfield have introduced abs in the bikes they sell abroad...I hope they bring it here asap

    2 because of the weight and the large handlebars,it's very tough to maneuver the bike in traffic and through gaps

    3.quality issues- royal Enfields sure do come up with their own set of glitches.the decompressor which is now inside the UC engine still makes the typical irritating sound which is common in all royal enfields.it can be fixed by just fixing up the spring coil inside the engine but apparently the service guys don't know about it or they have been told not to open up the engine unless it's very important.the fuel gauge is just for the show.doenst work.and proper brake pads are required

    • 5

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 3

      Reliability

    • 2

      Performance

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 4

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      5000-10000 kms

  •  3Its okay but prblematic too 3 weeks ago by Santosh waje

    Exeperiance with Thunderbird350 from past 3.5years. Its 2014 model.. I ride it twice to Goa.. it has no major problem with this machine.. but I faced the problems regarding other things like.. chains sprocket, handle bar, wire problems, suspension problems.. so I'm

    Exeperiance with Thunderbird350 from past 3.5years. Its 2014 model.. I ride it twice to Goa.. it has no major problem with this machine.. but I faced the problems regarding other things like.. chains sprocket, handle bar, wire problems, suspension problems.. so I'm not satisfy with these normal problems and also these problems not fixed fr permanently.. for 1st 1.5 years it has no problems with this bike but after that I tired to solve problems, spent lot of money too.. most experienced irritating problem about this bike is tic tic sound coming from the machine its not fixed any more..

    So please think twice before buying this machine

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      10000-15000 kms

  •  1Garbage 1 month ago by Raghu shukla
    Every month I had sent my bike for service, oil leakage, vibration after 70kmpl, too much bike parts noise on an average road. Fuel meter is always showing wrong details, poor quality and this bike is hell. Please never buy this bike. Go for duke or dominor if you are
    Every month I had sent my bike for service, oil leakage, vibration after 70kmpl, too much bike parts noise on an average road. Fuel meter is always showing wrong details, poor quality and this bike is hell. Please never buy this bike. Go for duke or dominor if you are spending above 1.5 lakhs. I had a dream to RE but that dream have turn to be a nightmare now.
    • 1

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 1

      Reliability

    • 1

      Performance

    • 1

      Comfort

    • 1

      Servicing Experience

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      6 months-1 yr

    • Ridden for

      10000-15000 kms

  •  4Stylish urban bike  2 months ago by Arun Sreekanteshwar

    Style

    This is a very urban vehicle. Has good dashboard lighting and digital tachometer. Has a road presence and looks elegant overall.

    Engine Performance, Fuel Economy and Gearbox

    I have done 17.5 k kms in about 16 months. Engine is very good. Fuel economy is 35

    Style

    This is a very urban vehicle. Has good dashboard lighting and digital tachometer. Has a road presence and looks elegant overall.

    Engine Performance, Fuel Economy and Gearbox

    I have done 17.5 k kms in about 16 months. Engine is very good. Fuel economy is 35 kmpl approx. Gearbox is average. gear shifting is seldom smooth - it needs regular maintenance. Worst is the fuel level indicator which is digital. It never works and one has to always depend on reserve knob. Better if the vehicle had an analog fuel level indicator than a digital meter which does not work.

    Ride Quality & Handling

    Highway riding is awesome. Has good stability. City handling is OK. Not a vehicle where you can cut corners. This is meant for cruising.

    Final Words

    Value for money. Has a solid built like every other RE. Strong suggest this over classic and other variants. Nothing to regret - A great vehicle to own!

    Areas of improvement

    Rear seating can be a little better, Gear box must be improved and fuel meter ofcourse.

    Pros

    Stylish, Good engine, Good handling in long rides

    Cons

    Gearbox, fuel level indicator, tappet noise , chain maintenance

    • 4

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 4

      Performance

    • 3

      Comfort

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

  •  4bull tb 350 1 year ago by vikram p

    Style The bet styled motor bike in the 350-500 cc caategory, the dual heaadlight with drl, body paint finish and colors, instrument cluster, reaar seaat comfort and led back break light.

    Engine Performance, Fuel Economy and Gearbox Engine feels smooth and nice and

    Style The bet styled motor bike in the 350-500 cc caategory, the dual heaadlight with drl, body paint finish and colors, instrument cluster, reaar seaat comfort and led back break light.

    Engine Performance, Fuel Economy and Gearbox Engine feels smooth and nice and torquey, should have tweaked to get some more bhp , getting a great fuel economy since purchase in august 2015 of about + 40 kmpl on the highways and around 35-40 in city, the gear box does clatter and make some noice at times but it dissapears when you throttle at idle speads, the service mechanic are still not able to find a cure to it , shifitng to lower gears especially 1st gear on breaking I hard as it often mis falls and makes a noice and gear slips, so need to be slow and patient while shifting gears down. As such a no issue probem bike.

    Ride Quality & Handling I often ride twice or thirce a week from mumbai to pune regularly so get a great fuel economy of + 45 most of the times, though I restirct speeding beyond 100, above 90 you can feel some vibrations but its ok, the front seeating does get uncomfy if riding at a stretch for long without breaking. Nandling is amazing overrall, good feel on straith roads and ghat ection. My be lcks punch nad power of 500 tb but is good for indiaan roads and aa well deserved, devoloped bike. Something needs to be done emmiditely with the instrument console as its single mounted throgh aa bolt so does clatter and vibrate alot unless you manage to do some aftersale market adjustments to it.

    Final Words A great bike for india. no words to describe and appreciate the good product from royal enfield group after the machismo avl series bikes now discontinued . the classic series is sad, low, short, and smaller in size . not a true royal enfield bullet in any way, the thunderbird does feel big as it is a big bike for tall riders and very comfortable all around. Its been a year now and ive clocked around 8000 kms in the thungerbird and still feeels new and absoluty love it, except a few small glitches.

    Areas of improvement Front rider seats neeed to be improved a bit, instrument cluster fitting, front handle corck rubber as the front suspension makes a thug noice over larger potholes or speedbreakers, mostly tb series is categorised under cruisers and more people use it to commute long distances and long rides so would be great if re could gie company extra headlight or spot lights fittment option and widder tyres.

    Pros

    nothing to compare and the best in its category

    Cons

    after sales service and waranty

    • 5

      Visual Appeal/Looks

    • 4

      Performance

    • 3

      Comfort

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Report

Rate your bike

Share your experience about this bike

Expert Reviews on Thunderbird 350

Bajaj Avenger 220 Cruise vs Royal Enfield Thunderbird 350 : Comparison Test
Bajaj Avenger 220 Cruise vs Royal Enfield Thunderbird 350 : Comparison Test
29 December 2015
Pratheek Kunder

We brought you the comparison between the Avenger 150 and the Suzuki Gixxer SF a few weeks back you can read it HERE So while the Avenger 150 is a new category for Bajaj to enter it has been operating with the 220cc engine for eons But the motorcycle rsquo s sales had...

Read all expert reviews

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Report

Please tell us your city

This allows us to provide relevant content for you.

Please enter your city
Confirm city