Please wait

You’re being redirected to


MotoGP: Rider's championship after Brno round

12 August 2017, 01:30 PM Charles Pennefather
MotoGP: Rider's championship after Brno round

After an exciting flag-to-flag race where some decisions swung in favour of the rider and others where it didn't, Marquez has picked up where he left off. He has extended his lead to five points over main rival Maverick Vinales. A single point behind Vinales sits Ducati rider Andrea Dovizioso, his consistency seeing him keep his position in the top three after leading the championship briefly. In fourth place sits the old goat, Valentino Rossi, four points adrift of Dovi. It is of note that all four riders have led the championship at one point or another. 

In a quiet fifth place is Dani Pedrosa, with first of the satellite riders being Johann Zarco in sixth. His teammate Jonas Folger is right behind, with Danilo Petrucci in eighth place. Lorenzo follows Petrucci, a single point behind, despite an identical machine but with better factory backing. In tenth is Cal Crutchlow, after his ride in the points at Brno with a broken vertrebra. 

The rest of the season should be an interesting one: Honda has brought in significant updates to its motorcycle, Yamaha seems to have finally fixed whatever was bothering them with the current chassis so both Vinales and Rossi are quick, and Lorenzo feels much more confident with the aero package on the GP17. We live in interesting times.


The entire list of riders in the 2017 MotoGP riders championship is as below:


1. Marc Marquez, 129 points

2. Maverick Vinales, 124 points

3. Andrea Dovizioso, 123 points

4. Valentino Rossi, 119 points

5. Dani Pedrosa, 103 points

6. Johann Zarco, 84 points

7. Jonas Folger, 71 points

8. Danilo Petrucci, 66 points

9. Jorge Lorenzo, 65 points

10. Cal Crutchlow, 64 points

11. Alvaro Bautista, 44 points

12. Jack Miller, 41 points

13. Scott Redding, 33 points

14. Aleix Espargaro, 32 points

15. Loriz Baz, 31 points

16. Andrea Iannone, 28 points

17. Tito Rabat, 23 points

18. Hector Barbera, 21 points

19. Karel Abrahan, 20 points

20. Pol Espargaro, 14 points

21. Bradley Smith, 8 points

22. Alex Rins, 7 points

23. Michele Pirro, 7 points

24. Sam Lowes, 2 points

25. Sylvain Guintoli, 1 point

Honda CBR1000RR Fireblade [2018]

Honda CBR1000RR Fireblade [2018]

  • Displacement999 cc
  • Max Power(bhp)186.3 bhp
  • Kerb Weight196 kg
  • ;

Last known Avg. Ex-showroom price

₹ 16,39,085

Follow us on Google News

Trending Articles

Latest Updates

View all news