Honda Dio user reviews

Overall rating:4.6 / 591 ratings
3

A disappointing upgrade

4 years ago by15,080 views

In my review i can't help but compare the dio to its previous model.

Style

the new dio has sporty styling. The facelight on the head lights and the tail lamps reflect a version of teenage rebelion. They definitely catch your eye. The speedometer dials and instrument panels are pretty much the same as the old dio except for the new fuel gauge. The dials are legible enough but lack a certain zing you get on its rivals.

Engine performance, fuel economy and ride quality

as mentioned in the pros above, acceleration is the bike's selling point. It's extremely powerful and the light body helps you climb to a high speed in no time. However, the odd feeling handle bar (probably due to its short length) don't give you confidence at high speeds or for that matter even at low speeds. The suspension is hard and even a single rider will get tossed around on an average indian road. The brakes however, serve their purpose and were designed to stop this vehicle at its highest speed.

A major let down that has been carried forward from the previous model is the battery problem. Firstly, it feels as if the battery power prescribed for the dio is underpowered, i.E., You get the feeling you need a bigger battery. This is because your lights go dim unless you accelerate. Secondly, the bike often dies if you don't hold a certain throttle.

Final words

the success of the previous model is owed to its acceleration, handling, road presence and fuel economy. Honda went wrong with the new dio in a few key areas. While they nailed the sporty looks and retained a few important features from the previous model, they went phenomenonally wrong in putting this one together. Riding this bike is extremely taxing for even a small distance.

Pros

styling, fuel economy, acceleration, cheap spares

cons

comfort, battery issues, suspension, handling

  • 3

    Visual Appeal

  • 3

    Comfort

  • 3

    Value for Money

Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

More reviews on Dio

  •  4Bike 1 day ago by Madhan Kumar S

    Riding experience is good and more enjoyable,good speed and control and comfortable for me.Nice colour looking good and performance.The service of honda is satisfying and buying experience also is good. Must to maintain the bike very good condition. But the speed is

    Riding experience is good and more enjoyable,good speed and control and comfortable for me.Nice colour looking good and performance.The service of honda is satisfying and buying experience also is good. Must to maintain the bike very good condition. But the speed is lock in 95 but easily control the bike in that speed.

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 3

      Service Experience

    • 4

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      Never owned

  •  5Beauty on wheels 6 days ago by Xennocryde

    The new honda dio is just wow!

    The ride quality is too good, silent engine and whenever you pull the throttle there is a full wave or torque to serve you.

    The suspension is also good but yet lacks refinement. As other honda scooters, it also promises big figures in the

    The new honda dio is just wow!

    The ride quality is too good, silent engine and whenever you pull the throttle there is a full wave or torque to serve you.

    The suspension is also good but yet lacks refinement. As other honda scooters, it also promises big figures in the mileage too. If you are looking for a perfect ride then undoubtedly "this is it"

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    • 4

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      < 3 months

    • Ridden for

      < 5000 kms

  •  4Dazzling dio 6 days ago by Sanketh

    The bike is really decent for daily commute , no issues at all , looks are pretty sharp and nice , really comfortable and made for Indian roads , no back issues , comes fully loaded with a mobile charger and stuff , service every 6 months necessary and maintenance is

    The bike is really decent for daily commute , no issues at all , looks are pretty sharp and nice , really comfortable and made for Indian roads , no back issues , comes fully loaded with a mobile charger and stuff , service every 6 months necessary and maintenance is pretty less compared to other gear-less bikes in this range .

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    • 5

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      6 months-1 yr

    • Ridden for

      < 5000 kms

  •  4Hyderabad to mumbai on dio 1 week ago by Krish

    The buying experience was great i have bought it from nearby honda dealer and they were good they delivered the bike in my home and after i get the bike first thing i did was just go out for a spin and the corners work really good on this dio but i have cell lift and

    The buying experience was great i have bought it from nearby honda dealer and they were good they delivered the bike in my home and after i get the bike first thing i did was just go out for a spin and the corners work really good on this dio but i have cell lift and confidence while breaking just a little bit until now i have done 20 to 30000 km on this machine i used to change it's oil on every 2500 to 3000 no problem still now no engine problem at all still runs has motors new bike ..... And i even want to mention when i bought this bike my friends were like wow this looks good and even i have bought it because its muscular look's and it gives a pretty good mileage the averages about 50to55 kmpl it had a great power compare to activa 4g or other competitors.... Pros and cons, i think the pros are the way how it looks and feels look, comfortable to ride, lightweight compared to activa 4g and other competitors now let's head on to corn's the biggest cons i feel it's braking

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    • 4

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Everything

    • Owned for

      6 months-1 yr

    • Ridden for

      5000-10000 kms

  •  5Best gearless bike for all all people  1 week ago by Syed Sadath

    1)i have got this in dec 2015, dio new model by selling my old 2007 model.

    2)this is cool funky classic stylish gearless bike ever.

    3)it gives great mileage of 50+ highway and 40+ in city.

    4)very comfortable for all the people (students, workers, old, young).

    5)best part

    1)i have got this in dec 2015, dio new model by selling my old 2007 model.

    2)this is cool funky classic stylish gearless bike ever.

    3)it gives great mileage of 50+ highway and 40+ in city.

    4)very comfortable for all the people (students, workers, old, young).

    5)best part is ladies can also use this bike at home.

    6) trustworthy dealers and service's you can buy this bike without giving second thought.

    7)best value for money.

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 5

      Service Experience

    • 5

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  •  4Good 3 weeks ago by Lingaraj

    I have awesome experience, it is the most stylish and sporty .... You will feel amazing, according to me its better activa n access. It looks very stylish, very suitable for youngsters, college students. More attractive than other bikes. In price also it is the first

    I have awesome experience, it is the most stylish and sporty .... You will feel amazing, according to me its better activa n access. It looks very stylish, very suitable for youngsters, college students. More attractive than other bikes. In price also it is the first choice. But one disadvantage it has that is average. Compare to activa and other scooters it has less mileage. Apart from that it has all good qualities... So guys go for it

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 5

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    • 4

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      6 months-1 yr

    • Ridden for

      < 5000 kms

  •  5Honda dio pe jio 3 weeks ago by Sai Charan

    I was with my friend and it was looking fab right from the showroom itself. Although the ride wasn't mine , the experience was smooth from the backseat . My experience was really awesome really pleased with the sound . The looks are eye catchy and superb. The service

    I was with my friend and it was looking fab right from the showroom itself. Although the ride wasn't mine , the experience was smooth from the backseat . My experience was really awesome really pleased with the sound . The looks are eye catchy and superb. The service was also timely and the management was good . Cons is only regarding its cc .

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    • 4

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      Never owned

  •  5Racing dio 3 weeks ago by Jithinraj

    Marvellous vehicle with a good power and mileage, smooth design, various colours. Amazing balance on of road racing . Head light designed a new experiment and tale lamb is awesome. The performance of honda dio is better than other series of vehicles such as scooty

    Marvellous vehicle with a good power and mileage, smooth design, various colours. Amazing balance on of road racing . Head light designed a new experiment and tale lamb is awesome. The performance of honda dio is better than other series of vehicles such as scooty pep, mahidra gusto, hero pleasure and ray

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 5

      Reliability

    • 2

      Service Experience

    • 3

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      < 3 months

    • Ridden for

      < 5000 kms

  •  5Efficient vehicle 3 weeks ago by Harish Kumar K M

    Efficiency vehicle:

    i am using this scooter from past more than 3 years. This scooter is still in good condition even start with single self, we maintained less and ride lot. We do some repairs like changed tyre and small repairs only.

    Compare to other scooters the honda

    Efficiency vehicle:

    i am using this scooter from past more than 3 years. This scooter is still in good condition even start with single self, we maintained less and ride lot. We do some repairs like changed tyre and small repairs only.

    Compare to other scooters the honda scooters are the best and more efficient and many service centres.New scooters are have more features than old ones. Its the best scooter to buy for short peoples and has less weight and affordable price.

    • 5

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 4

      Comfort

    • 4

      Service Experience

    • 5

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

  •  4City rider 1 month ago by Kashivishwanath

    I bought this bike at 2015 feb still looks cool and have awesome pickup the best part i like in this bike is looks for that i will give 4.5 ?? Out of 5 . I will prefer this buddy if you're a city because you can easily move your bike in traffic this bike is not so

    I bought this bike at 2015 feb still looks cool and have awesome pickup the best part i like in this bike is looks for that i will give 4.5 ?? Out of 5 . I will prefer this buddy if you're a city because you can easily move your bike in traffic this bike is not so havy and body design so good that handling of this bike so easy . Over all in my opinion good bike for decent price.

    • 4

      Visual Appeal

    • 4

      Reliability

    • 3

      Comfort

    • 3

      Service Experience

    • 4

      Value for Money

    ...Read more

    Inappropriate review? Report Abuse

    • Used it for

      Daily Commute

    • Owned for

      > 1 yr

    • Ridden for

      > 15000 kms

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Honda Dio

4.6 (89 ratings) 29 reviews

Ex-showroom, Mumbai

 50,854
View model details

Rate your bike

Share your experience about this bike

Expert Reviews on Dio

Honda Dio vs Mahindra duro DZ
Honda Dio vs Mahindra duro DZ
15 April 2012
Vikrant Singh

The Right Partner Looking to choose a scooter as your commuting partner There are two recently upgraded options to consider

Read all expert reviews

Why do you want to report it abuse?

Comment

Please tell us your city

This allows us to provide relevant content for you.

Please enter your city
Confirm city